Short Takes for June 2022
  • Thursday, Jun. 9, 2022
Matt Kuttan

Competition series Exposure is returning for a second season. A co-production and creative development among BBH Entertainment, Westbrook Media and Samsung, season two of the unscripted format is hosted by singer, actress and entertainer, Lele Pons, who has amassed over 101M followers across her social media platforms. Season 2 premiered May 29 on Pons’ YouTube channel.

The series shines a light on how Gen Z has mastered using tech for creativity and expression while leveraging their platforms to further their dreams. This season will feature eight new, diverse, dream-chasing content creators across makeup, comedy, fashion, animation, photography, and even ventriloquism. Throughout the season, contestants will be asked to showcase their creative skills through a series of social media inspired video challenges utilizing the 15-second to 1-minute video format. They will be judged by host Pons and head judge Adam Waheed along with a rotating roster of guest judges including Tinashe, Hannah Stocking, Patrick Starr, and Marilyn Hue, among others, competing for a $250,000 contract with Samsung.

Throughout each episode, contestants will use the premium features of the Samsung Galaxy S22 Ultra smartphone to complete various challenges utilizing different visual mediums and editing techniques to create short form video content. Episode themes have been inspired by today’s popular social media content trends including the Gen Z led cultural phenomena of historical nostalgia, ever-popular dance loops and challenges, content collaboration and duetting videos, brand marketing and more.

The eight-episode series is directed by Ramy Romany, who earned a DGA Award nomination earlier this year in the Reality Programs category for Making the Cut.  New episodes of Exposure will debut weekly on Sundays and Mondays through June.

The Academy Board of Governors has confirmed the reappointment of current governors-at-large DeVon Franklin (Executives Branch), Rodrigo García (Directors Branch) and Janet Yang (Producers Branch).  They will each serve an additional three-year term beginning on July 1.

As with the governors representing each of the Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences’ 17 branches, governors-at-large may serve up to two three-year terms (consecutive or non-consecutive), followed by a two-year hiatus, after which eligibility renews for up to two additional three-year terms, for a lifetime maximum of 12 years.  The Board of Governors sets the Academy’s strategic vision, preserves the organization’s financial health and assures the fulfillment of its mission.

New Orleans-based agency PETERMAYER has appointed Matt Kuttan as its chief creative officer. Kuttan brings omnichannel and multicultural brand experience from such shops as Leo Burnett, Saatchi X and Burrell Communications. Earlier this year PETERMAYER changed ownership, with chief strategy officer Michelle Edelman taking over as owner and CEO from the Mayer family. Kuttan now joins the leadership team, assuming the CCO role held by Desmond LaVelle, who announced his departure in April. LaVelle and Kuttan worked together previously at Leo Burnett, and LaVelle introed Kuttan to PETERMAYER....

MySHOOT Company Profiles