Apple, O Positive, Hungry Man Score 2 Commercial Emmy Nominations Apiece
Change The Ref's "The Lost Class"
  • --

Apple entered the primetime commercial Emmy nominees’ circle for the fourth consecutive year--this time for two spots: iPhone 13 Pro’s “Detectives” directed by David Shane of O Positive with creative from Apple itself; and Apple TV+’s “Everyone But Jon Hamm” directed by Wayne McClammy of Hungry Man for TBWA\Media Arts Lab.

This marks the third time in four years that Apple has had two spot Emmy nominations. 

Deuces were also wild for production companies O Positive and Hungry Man this year. In addition to “Everyone But Jon Hamm,” Hungry Man scored an Emmy nod for Change The Ref’s “The Lost Class,” directed by Bryan Buckley for Leo Burnett, Chicago. And O Positive’s two nominations came for Apple’s “Detectives” and Chevy Silverado’s “Walter The Cat.” The latter was directed by Jim Jenkins for agency Commonwealth//McCann.

Rounding out this year’s field of primetime commercial Emmy nominees were: Sandy Hook Promise’s “Teenage Dream" directed by Henry-Alex Rubin of SMUGGLER for BBDO New York; and Meta’s “Skate Nation Ghana” directed by a collective of four directors from production house Love Song--Daniel Wolfe, Bafic, Elliott Powers and Justyna Obasi--for Droga5 New York. Obasi is an alum of SHOOT’s 2020 New Directors Showcase.

Here’s a rundown of the Emmy nominations for Outstanding Commercial:

Outstanding Commercial
“Detectives” - Apple iPhone 13 Pro 
O Positive, Production Company
Apple, Ad Agency

“Everyone But Jon Hamm” - Apple TV+
Hungry Man Productions, Production Company
Media Arts Lab, Ad Agency

“The Lost Class” - Change The Ref
Hungry Man Productions, Production Company
Leo Burnett Chicago, Ad Agency

Skate Nation Ghana - Meta
Love Song, Production Company
Droga5, Ad Agency

“Teenage Dream” - Sandy Hook Promise
BBDO New York, Ad Agency
SMUGGLER, Production Company

“Walter The Cat” - Chevy Silverado
Commonwealth//McCann, Ad Agency
O Positive, Production Company

The winner of the Emmy for Outstanding Commercial will be announced and honored during the Creative Arts Emmys ceremony weekend on Sept. 3 and 4 in Los Angeles.


Client Change The Ref Agency Leo Burnett Chicago Liz Taylor, global chief creative officer; Sam Shepherd, EVP, executive creative director; Kyle Poff, VP, design director; Jason LaFlore, Matt Turnier, associate creative directors; Mackenzie Hart, copywriter; Sofia Gahn, art director; Kelley Barrett, jr. copywriter; Katie DiNardo, jr. art director; Mike Davidson, EVP, head of production; Ashley Geisheker, SVP, executive producer; Kaitlin Bucaro, associate producer; Michael Shanahan, SVP, director, production operations; Julie Lewandowski, production manager; Nimisha Jain, VP, strategy director; Sean Logan, strategist. Production Company Hungry Man Bryan Buckley, director; Matt Lefebvre, Jordan Cohen, producers; Caleb Dewart, Mino Jarjoura, exec producers; Scott Henriksen, DP; Neil Dacosta, photographer. Web Development Unicorns & Unicorns Adrianne McCurrach, exec producer; Meg Amicucci, producer; Sun Komen, technical creative director; Ceara Adamson, associate creative director; Danny Wirick, development. Editorial NO6 Jason Macdonald, JK Carrington, Ryan Bukowski, Chris VanDyke, editors; Grace Yang, Riley Donigan, assistant editors; Maxwell Redinger, Resolve finisher; Corina Dennison, exec producer. VFX Parliament Color Studio Primary Gregory Reese, colorist; Corey Martinez, David Oh, color assists; Jenny Bright, producer; Thatcher Peterson, exec producer. Music, Sound Design, Mix Beacon Street Studios Andrew Feltenstein, John Nau, music; Leslie DiLullo, exec producer; Rommel Molina, mixer; Lindsey Lerman, producer.


Client Sandy Hook Promise Agency BBDO New York David Lubars, chief creative officer, worldwide; Peter Alsante, executive creative director; Jim Connolly, creative director; Samantha Spellman, art director; Sandi Spino, copywriter; Alex Gianni, executive producer, director of content production; Molly Ross, producer; Jong Yeu Wu, designer; Julia Millison, sr. music producer; Lucy Bennett, influencer manager; Jessica Nugent, SVP, director of production services. Media Agency PHD Nichole Verost, strategy director; Jake Brady, strategist. Production SMUGGLER Henry-Alex Rubin, director; Patrick Milling Smith, Brian Carmody, Drew Santarsiero, exec producers; Alex Hughes, head of production; Leah Allina, producer; Michelle Mehn, Mark Perez, associate producers. Catalina Restrepo, line producer (NY prep); Holland Kemp, production supervisor; Carly Rehm, assistant production supervisor; Anthony Dimino, 1st AD; David Devlin, DP; Alex Fagin, production designer; Young-Ah Kim, Jessica Bonanza, wardrobe stylists; Leah Allina, Lev Abramoff, casting directors. Editorial MackCut Ian MacKenzie, editor; Gina Pagano, exec producer; Cooper McLane, assistant editor; Jimmy Hayhow, lead Flame artist; Franklin Ponce, Mike Leuis, interview editors. Telecine Color Collective Alex Bickel, colorist; Claudia Guevara, exec producer. Music Human Sloan Alexander, creative lead & arranger; Thomas Kerry, arranger; James Dean Wells, exec producer. Song: “Teenage Dreams” by Katy Perry. Audio Post Post Human Sloan Alexander, chief engineer.


MySHOOT Company Profiles