"Belfast," "CODA," "Dune," "The Power of the Dog" Among Feature Nominees For Producers Guild Awards
Ferdia Walsh-Peelo (l) and Emilia Jones in a scene from "CODA." (photo courtesy of Apple TV)
  • --

The Producers Guild of America (PGA) announced nominations in the motion pictures and television categories for the 33rd Annual Producers Guild Awards to be held on Saturday, March 19, 2022 at the Fairmont Century Plaza.

The Producers Guild Awards are often a bellwether for the Oscars. Since its inception, the PGA has  predicted 22 of the past 32 winners of the Academy Award for Best Picture. This time around the nominees for the marquee Darryl F. Zanuck Award for Outstanding Producer of Theatrical Motion Pictures are: Being the Ricardos, Belfast, CODA, Don’t Look Up, Dune, King Richard, Licorice Pizza, The Power of the Dog, tick, tick...Boom! and West Side Story.

Here’s a full rundown of the nominees across all categories:

Darryl F. Zanuck Award for Outstanding Producer of Theatrical Motion Pictures

Being the Ricardos
Producer: Todd Black, p.g.a.

Producers: Laura Berwick, Kenneth Branagh, Becca Kovacik, Tamar Thomas

Producers: Philippe Rousselet, p.g.a., Fabrice Gianfermi, p.g.a., Patrick Wachsberger, p.g.a.

Don’t Look Up
Producers: Adam McKay, p.g.a., Kevin Messick, p.g.a.

Producers: Mary Parent, p.g.a., Cale Boyter, p.g.a., Denis Villeneuve, p.g.a.

King Richard
Producers: Tim White, p.g.a., Trevor White, p.g.a., Will Smith, p.g.a.

Licorice Pizza
Producers: Sara Murphy, Paul Thomas Anderson, Adam Somner

The Power of the Dog
Producers: Jane Campion, p.g.a., Tanya Seghatchian, p.g.a., Emile Sherman, p.g.a. & Iain Canning, p.g.a., Roger Frappier, p.g.a.

tick, tick…BOOM!
Producers: Julie Oh, p.g.a., Lin-Manuel Miranda, p.g.a.

West Side Story
Producers: Steven Spielberg, p.g.a., Kristie Macosko Krieger, p.g.a.


Award for Outstanding Producer of Animated Theatrical Motion Pictures

Producers: Yvett Merino, p.g.a., Clark Spencer, p.g.a.

Producers: Andrea Warren, p.g.a.

The Mitchells vs. The Machines
Producers: Phil Lord, p.g.a. & Christopher Miller, p.g.a., Kurt Albrecht, p.g.a.

Raya and the Last Dragon
Producers: Osnat Shurer, p.g.a., Peter Del Vecho, p.g.a.

Sing 2
Producers: Chris Meledandri, p.g.a., Janet Healy, p.g.a.


Norman Felton Award for Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television - Drama

The Handmaid’s Tale (Season 4)
*Eligibility Determination Pending*

The Morning Show (Season 2)
*Eligibility Determination Pending*

Squid Game (Season 1)
*Eligibility Determination Pending*

Succession (Season 3)
*Eligibility Determination Pending*

Yellowstone (Season 4)
*Eligibility Determination Pending*


Danny Thomas Award for Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television - Comedy

Cobra Kai (Seasons 3 & 4)
*Eligibility Determination Pending*

Curb Your Enthusiasm (Season 11)
*Eligibility Determination Pending*

Hacks (Season 1)
Producers: Jen Statsky, Paul W. Downs, Lucia Aniello, Michael Schur, David Miner, Morgan Sackett, Joanna Calo, Andrew Law, David Hyman, Joe Mande, Jessica Chaffin

Only Murders in the Building (Season 1)
*Eligibility Determination Pending*

Ted Lasso (Season 2)
*Eligibility Determination Pending*


David L. Wolper Award for Outstanding Producer of Limited or Anthology Series Television

*Eligibility Determination Pending*

Mare of Easttown
*Eligibility Determination Pending*

​​The Underground Railroad
*Eligibility Determination Pending*

*Eligibility Determination Pending*

The White Lotus
*Eligibility Determination Pending*


Award for Outstanding Producer of Televised or Streamed Motion Pictures

8-Bit Christmas
Producers: Tim White, p.g.a. & Trevor White, p.g.a., Allan Mandelbaum, p.g.a.

Come From Away
*Eligibility Determination Pending*

*Eligibility Determination Pending*

Robin Roberts Presents: Mahalia
*Eligibility Determination Pending*

Single All The Way
Producer: Joel S. Rice, p.g.a.

Tom Petty, Somewhere You Feel Free: The Making of Wildflowers
*Eligibility Determination Pending*


Award for Outstanding Producer of Non-Fiction Television

60 Minutes (Season 54)
*Eligibility Determination Pending*

Allen v. Farrow (Season 1)
*Eligibility Determination Pending*

The Beatles: Get Back (Season 1)
*Eligibility Determination Pending*

Queer Eye (Season 6)
*Eligibility Determination Pending*

Stanley Tucci: Searching for Italy (Season 1)
*Eligibility Determination Pending*


Award for Outstanding Producer of Live Entertainment, Variety, Sketch, Standup & Talk Television

The Daily Show with Trevor Noah (Season 27)
*Eligibility Determination Pending*

Dave Chappelle: The Closer
*Eligibility Determination Pending*

Last Week Tonight with John Oliver (Season 8)
*Eligibility Determination Pending*

The Late Show with Stephen Colbert (Season 7)
*Eligibility Determination Pending*

Saturday Night Live (Season 47)
*Eligibility Determination Pending*


Award for Outstanding Producer of Game & Competition Television

America’s Got Talent (Season 16)
*Eligibility Determination Pending*

Nailed It! (Seasons 5 & 6)
*Eligibility Determination Pending*

RuPaul’s Drag Race (Season 13)
*Eligibility Determination Pending*

Top Chef (Season 18)
*Eligibility Determination Pending*

The Voice (Season 20)
*Eligibility Determination Pending*


Award for Outstanding Producer of Documentary Motion Pictures
The PGA previously announced the nominations in this category on December 10, 2021. 

Producers: Jessica Kingdon, Kira Simon-Kennedy, Nathan Truesdell

The First Wave
*Eligibility Determination Pending*

*Eligibility Determination Pending*

In The Same Breath
Producers: Nanfu Wang, Jialing Zhang, Julie Goldman & Christopher Clements, Carolyn Hepburn

The Rescue
*Eligibility Determination Pending*

Simple As Water
Producers: Robin Hessman, Megan Mylan

Summer Of Soul (...Or, When the Revolution Could Not Be Televised)
Producers: Joseph Patel, p.g.a., David Dinerstein, p.g.a., Robert Fyvolent, p.g.a.

Writing With Fire
Producers: Rintu Thomas, Sushmit Ghosh


Final ballots for TV (Comedy, Drama, Limited/Anthology Series, Televised/Streamed Motion Pictures, Non-Fiction, Game/Competition, Live Entertainment/Variety/Sketch/Talk Series) and Film (Theatrical Motion Picture, Animated Motion Picture, and Documentary) will now close on March 8. Winners of these categories will be announced at the 33rd Annual Producers Guild Awards on March 19, 2022. 


Final ballots for Children’s, Short Form and Sports Programs will close on February 10. Winners of the Sports, Children’s and Short Form categories, as well the PGA Innovation Award, will be announced in Los Angeles and New York at the Guild’s Nominee’s Events the week of March 15th. Exact event dates and locations will be announced soon.


MySHOOT Company Profiles