Biscuit Filmworks Launches Directing Duo Joaquin & Lalou
Lalou Dammond (l) and Joaquin Baca-Asay, aka Joaquin & Lalou
  • --

Biscuit Filmworks has added Joaquin & Lalou--a directorial duo consisting of Joaquin Baca-Asay and Lalou Dammond--to its roster for both U.S. and U.K. representation spanning commercials and branded content. This marks the introduction of Baca-Asay and Dammond as a helming team to the industry at large.

Baca-Asay, who joined Biscuit in 2018, has been a longtime collaborator with Dammond, his producer. The two have been creative partners since 2006. 

Throughout their working relationship, Baca-Asay and Dammond have worked with leading worldwide brands including Nike, Apple, the NFL, Chevrolet and Bud Light, earning accolades from Cannes Lions, Clios, the AICP Show, and The One Show. Baca-Asay also received a DGA Awards nomination for Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Commercials in 2010, based on spots for CSX, Volvo, Bank of America, and LensCrafters, all produced by Dammond. The duo’s work is known for elegant realism in both visuals and storytelling, and their creative partnership blends the roles of director, cinematographer, producer, and photographer.

“Joaquin and I have been collaborators for as long as we’ve worked together,” shared Dammond, “and it just felt like it was time to officially declare ourselves as a directing team. We’re very excited that Biscuit is so supportive of this next phase in our partnership.”

Baca-Asay began his career as a cinematographer, working on a range of projects including an Oscar-nominated short film shot while still a student at NYU, the music video for Jay-Z’s “99 Problems,” James Gray’s acclaimed “We Own The Night” and “Two Lovers,” and cult comedy classic Super Troopers. Dammond began her career as an independent film and documentary producer, where she honed her skills as a creative producer with many award-winning and festival-favorite projects to her name.

Founded in 2000 by managing director Shawn Lacy and director Noam Murro, Biscuit maintains a directors’ roster which includes Joaquin & Lalou, Murro, Aaron Stoller, Andreas Nilsson, Big Red Button, Christopher Riggert, Clay Weiner, Dan DiFelice, Daniel Warwick, Errol Morris, The Glue Society, Isaiah Seret, Jeff Low, Justin Kurzel, Matt Devine, Michael Downing, Molly Manners, Olof Lindh, Rachel McDonald, and Steve Rogers. 


MySHOOT Company Profiles