Creative Category Nominations Unveiled For HPA Awards
HPA Award trophies
Achievements in color grading, editing, VFX and sound work gain industry recognition
  • BURBANK, Calif.
  • --

The HPA Awards Committee has unveiled the nominees for the creative categories of the 2020 HPA Awards. The HPA Awards have been the standard bearer for recognizing creative accomplishment and technical innovation, honoring outstanding achievement and artistic excellence by the individuals and teams who help bring stories to life. The winners of the creative categories will be announced in a live virtual gala on November 19, 2020.  The gala is free to attend with prior registration.

Launched in 2006, the 2020 HPA Awards will be a celebration of 15 years of recognizing outstanding achievement in color grading, editing, sound, and visual effects for work in episodic, spots, and feature films. Despite the difficulties inherent to producing an awards show during a pandemic, the HPA Awards Committee and the HPA Board of Directors were committed to recognizing the remarkable work produced in the previous year and bringing together the community in a spirit of celebration.

The 2020 HPA Awards Creative Category nominees are:

Outstanding Color Grading – Theatrical Feature
“Ad Astra”
Gregory Fisher // Company 3

“Gretel & Hansel”
Mitch Paulson // EFILM, Company 3

“Jojo Rabbit”
Tim Stipan // Company 3

Jill Bogdanowicz // Company 3

Natasha Leonnet // EFILM, Company 3

Outstanding Color Grading – Episodic or Non-theatrical Feature
“The Alienist: Angel of Darkness – Last Exit to Brooklyn”
Juan Cabrera, Fran Lorite // LightBender

“Altered Carbon – Payment Deferred”
Bill Ferwerda // Deluxe Toronto, Company 3

“Catherine the Great – Episode 1”
Aidan Farrell // The Farm Group

Bryan Smaller // Company 3

“Watchmen – It’s Summer and We’re Running Out of Ice”
Todd Bochner // Sim International

Outstanding Color Grading – Commercial 
BMW – “A Mirror Into the Future”
Sofie Borup // Company 3

BMW – “This is Option 2”
Tom Poole // Company 3

Diet Coke – “Drink What Your Mama Gave Ya”
Dave Hussey // Company 3

NFL – “Next 100”
Stefan Sonnenfeld // Company 3

Ralph Lauren – “Deep Blue”
Tom Poole // Company 3

Outstanding Editing – Theatrical Feature
“Ford v Ferrari”
Michael McCusker, ACE; Andrew Buckland, ACE

“Jojo Rabbit”
Tom Eagles, ACE

Jeff Groth, ACE

Jinmo Yang, ACE

“The Two Popes”
Fernando Stutz

Outstanding Editing – Episodic or Non-theatrical Feature (30 Minutes and Under)
“Insecure – Lowkey Happy”
Mark Sadlek

“Insecure – Lowkey Losin’ It”
Daysha Broadway, Lucky Justice Productions Inc.

“Insecure – Lowkey Trying”
Nena Erb, ACE

“The Righteous Gemstones – But the Righteous Will See Their Fall”
Craig Hayes

“What We Do in the Shadows – Resurrection”
Yana Gorskaya, ACE, Dane McMaster, FX Networks

Outstanding Editing – Episodic or Non-theatrical Feature (Over 30 Minutes)
“Mrs. America – Phyllis & Fred & Brenda & Marc”
Emily Greene, FX Networks

“Seven Worlds, One Planet: Asia”
Angela Maddick, BBC Studios Natural History Unit

“Seven Worlds, One Planet: Australia”
Nigel Buck, BBC Studios Natural History Unit

“Watchmen – It’s Summer and We’re Running Out of Ice”
David Eisenberg, HBO

“Watchmen – This Extraordinary Being”
Anna Hauger

Outstanding Sound – Theatrical Feature
“An American Pickle”
Michael Babcock, Jeremy Pierson, Brandon Spencer, Jeff Sawyer, Dan Kenyon // Sony Pictures 

“IT: Chapter Two”
Bill R. Dean, Nancy Nugent, Michael Keller, Tim LeBlanc, Erick Ocampo, Randy Torres // Warner Bros.

Alan Robert Murray, Dean Zupancic, Tom Ozanich, Jason Ruder, Tod A. Maitland // Warner Bros. 

“Les Misérables”
Jérôme Gonthier, Arnaud Lavaleix, Matthieu Autin, Marco Casanova // Srab Films

Outstanding Sound – Episodic or Non-theatrical Feature
“The Alienist: Angel of Darkness – Belly of the Beast”
Matthew Skelding, Lindsey Alvarez, Ali Hawkins, Al Sirkett, Tom Jenkins

“Away – Negative Return”
Jonathan Greasley, Darren King, Shaughnessy Hare, Dan Gamache, Jeffrey Dyal // King Soundworks

“Locke and Key – Welcome to Matheson”
Chris Cooke, Eric Apps, J.R. Fountain, Dustin Harris // Deluxe Toronto, Company 3

“Seven Worlds, One Planet: Australia”
Graham Wild, Tim Owens // BBC Studios Natural History Unit

“Star Trek: Picard – ET in Arcadia Ego Part 2” 
Matthew E. Taylor, Todd Grace, Ed Carr, Tim Farrell, Sean Heissinger, Peter Devlin // Warner Bros.

Outstanding Visual Effects – Theatrical Feature
“The Aeronauts”
Louis Morin, Annie Godin, Christian Kaestner, Ara Khanikian // Amazon Studios

“IT: Chapter Two”
Fabrice Vienne, Vincent Desjardins, Christopher Nix, Jonathan Fleming-Bock, Dawid Borkiewicz // Rodeo FX Inc.

Sean Faden, Diana Giorgiutti, Anders Langlands, Seth Maury, Hubert Maston // Walt Disney Motion Picture Production

Guillaume Rocheron, Sona Pak, Greg Butler, Vijay Selvam, Richard Little // MPC

“The One and Only Ivan”
Nick Davis, Greg Fisher, Ben Aghdami, Ben Jones, Santiago Colomo Martinez // Walt Disney Motion Picture Production

Outstanding Visual Effects – Episodic (Under 13 Episodes) or Non-theatrical Feature
“His Dark Materials – The Fight to the Death”
Russell Dodgson, James Whitlam, Dan May, Danny Hargreaves, William Todd-Jones // Bad Wolf

“Lost in Space – Ninety-Seven”
Troy Davis, Niklas Jacobson, Jenn Taylor, David Anastacio, Rafael Solórzano // Legendary TV

“Lost in Space – Shipwrecked”
Aladino Debert, Suzanne Foster, Victor Grant, Paul Chapman // Digital Domain

“The Umbrella Academy – Right Back Where We Started”
Everett Burrell, Jeff Campbell, Phillip Hoffman, Neishaw Ali, Carrie Richardson // Spin VFX

“The Umbrella Academy – Valhalla”
Everett Burrell, R. Christopher White, Libby Hazell, Aidan Martin, Paul Raeburn // Weta Digital

Outstanding Visual Effects – Episodic (Over 13 Episodes)
“The Flash – Grodd Friended Me”
Armen V. Kevorkian, Shirak Agresta, Christopher Grocock, Tanya Kevorkian // Encore VFX

“Grey’s Anatomy – It’s Raining Men”
Tim Carras, Andie Eikenberg, Bill Parker, Nick Chamberlain, Casi Blume // Barnstorm FX

“NCIS: Naval Criminal Investigative Service – The Arizona”
Matt Von Brock, Javier Gallego, Carrie Smith, Erik O’Donnell, Del Depierro, Bob Minshall // Picture Shop, Ghost VFX

“9-1-1 – Sink or Swim”
Jon Massey, Tony Pirzadeh, Bryant Reif, Brandon Criswell, David Rand // Fuse FX

“Supergirl – Crisis on Infinite Earths: Part One”
Armen Kevorkian, Brian Reiss, Kris Cabrera, Fabian Jimenez, Alex Schade // Encore VFX

Winners of the coveted Engineering Excellence Award, announced previously, include EIZO, Eluvio, Moxion, and SBE Carl ZEISS. (in collaboration with Teradek) and Sohonet received honorable mention. The recipient of the Judges Award for Creativity and Engineering, a juried honor, will be announced in the coming weeks. All awards will be bestowed during the HPA Awards gala, online.


MySHOOT Company Profiles