"Da 5 Bloods," Spike Lee Take Best Picture, Director Honors From National Board of Review
Filmmaker Spike Lee, from left, with Clarke Peters, Delroy Lindo, Jonathan Majors and Norm Lewis on the set of “Da 5 Bloods.” (David Lee/Netflix)

The National Board of Review (NBR) has named Da 5 Bloods the Best Film of 2020. Furthermore, based on his work on the Netflix feature, Spike Lee earned Best Director distinction. Da 5 Bloods’ cast was additionally honored as Best Ensemble.

Riz Ahmed and Carey Mulligan won Best Actor and Actress honors for performances, respectively, in Sound of Metal and Promising Young Woman.

Sound of Metal also garnered Paul Raci the Best Supporting Actor mantle. Youn Yuh-jung won Best Supporting Actress for Minari, which also earned director Lee Isaac Chung the Best Original Screenplay.

Paul Greengrass and Luke Davies teamed to win Best Adapted Screenplay for News of the World.

Sidney Flanigan was recognized for Breakthrough Performance for her role in Never Rarely Sometimes Always.

Channing Godfrey Peoples took Best Directorial Debut for Miss Juneteenth.

And Joshua James Richards won Outstanding Achievement in Cinematography for Nomadland.

Soul, Time and La Llorona won, respectively, for Best Animated Film, Best Documentary and Best Foreign Language Film.

Special honors include the NBR Icon Award for the late Chadwick Boseman, the NBC Freedom of Expression Award for One Night in Miami, and the NBR Spotlight Award to Radha Blank for writing, directing, producing and starring in  The Forty-Year-Old Version.

Here’s a full rundown of winners, along with the NBR’s lists of the top films, top indie, documentary and foreign language movies:


Best Film: Da 5 Bloods
Best Director: Spike Lee, Da 5 Bloods
Best Actor: Riz Ahmed, Sound of Metal
Best Actress: Carey Mulligan, Promising Young Woman
Best Supporting Actor: Paul Raci, Sound of Metal
Best Supporting Actress: Youn Yuh-jung, Minari
Best Adapted Screenplay: Paul Greengrass & Luke Davies, News of the World
Best Original Screenplay: Lee Isaac Chung, Minari
Breakthrough Performance: Sidney Flanigan, Never Rarely Sometimes Always
Best Directorial Debut: Channing Godfrey Peoples, Miss Juneteenth
Best Animated Feature: Soul
Best Foreign Language Film: La Llorona
Best Documentary: Time
NBR Icon Award:  Chadwick Boseman
NBR Freedom of Expression Award: One Night in Miami
NBR Spotlight Award: Radha Blank for writing, directing, producing and starring in The Forty-Year-Old Version
Best Ensemble:  Da 5 Bloods
Outstanding Achievement in Cinematography:  Joshua James Richards, Nomadland

Top Films (in alphabetical order):

  • First Cow
  • The Forty-Year-Old Version
  • Judas and the Black Messiah
  • The Midnight Sky
  • Minari
  • News of the World
  • Nomadland
  • Promising Young Woman
  • Soul
  • Sound of Metal

Top 5 Foreign Language Films (in alphabetical order):

  • Apples
  • Collective
  • Dear Comrades
  • The Mole Agent
  • Night of the Kings

Top 5 Documentaries (in alphabetical order): 

  • All In: The Fight for Democracy
  • Boys State
  • Dick Johnson is Dead
  • Miss Americana
  • The Truffle Hunters

Top 10 Independent Films (in alphabetical order): 

  • The Climb
  • Driveways
  • Farewell Amor
  • Miss Juneteenth
  • The Nest
  • Never Rarely Sometimes Always
  • The Outpost
  • Relic
  • Saint Frances
  • Wolfwalkers


MySHOOT Company Profiles