Don Burgess To Receive American Society of Cinematographers' Life Achievement Award
Don Burgess, ASC (photo by Jason Boland)
Steven Fierberg to be presented ASC Career Achievement in Television Award; Amy Vincent will be honored with the Presidents Award
  • --

The American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) will celebrate the careers of three of its members at the 38th Annual Awards for Outstanding Achievement in Cinematography Gala on March 3, 2024. Don Burgess, ASC will be recognized with the 2024 Lifetime Achievement Award; Steven Fierberg will be presented with the ASC Career Achievement in Television Award; and Amy Vincent, ASC will be honored with the Presidents Award. The ceremony will be held at The Beverly Hilton in Beverly Hills, Calif. and live streamed worldwide.

Burgess earned ASC Award and Oscar® nominations for shooting Robert Zemeckis’ Academy Award®-winning Best Picture “Forrest Gump.” Burgess and Zemeckis have also collaborated on such memorable films as last year’s live-action “Pinocchio,” “The Witches,” “Allied,” “Flight,” “Contact,” “Cast Away,” “What Lies Beneath,” “The Polar Express,” and the upcoming “Here,” among others. Burgess has compiled over 60 credits during his illustrious career, including Sam Raimi’s “Spider-Man” (2002), James Wan’s “Aquaman” and “The Conjuring 2,” Chris Columbus’ “The Christmas Chronicles: Part Two,” Stephen Chbosky’s “Wonder,” Brian Helgeland’s “42,” James Bobin’s “The Muppets,” Allen and Albert Hughes’ “The Book of Eli,” Kevin Lima’s “Enchanted,” Gary Winick’s “13 Going on 30,” Jonathan Mostow’s “Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines,” and Billy Crystal’s “Forget Paris.” Burgess earned his first ASC nomination for the Emmy®-nominated television movie “The Court-Martial of Jackie Robinson.”

“Over the past 40 years, Don Burgess has been steadily inspiring us with his contribution to many of cinema’s most memorable films,” said ASC president Shelly Johnson. “Don is an amazingly talented artist whose body of work speaks powerfully to the strength of visual storytelling. He brings his vision and skill along with a deep commitment to collaboration, which is a guiding principle of our art form. Many of his films are woven into our cultural fabric--you remember where you saw his work and who you were with. It is a sincere pleasure for the ASC to recognize Don’s significant contributions to cinematography.”

Burgess’s work will be on theater screens this December with the premiere of “Aquaman and the Lost Kingdom,” directed by Wan.

Fierberg’s impressive television credits include all five seasons of Golden Globe Best Series winner “The Affair,” three seasons of Darren Star’s picturesque “Emily in Paris,” and multiple seasons of the Emmy®-winning HBO hit “Entourage.” Fierberg’s innovative approach can be seen in the pilot for ABC’s “Once Upon a Time” and in establishing the look for NBC’s “Kingpin.” He previously won an ASC Award for the miniseries “Attila” in 2002. In addition to his outstanding television work, Fierberg has shot a wide range of feature films including Steven Shainberg’s “Secretary,” Doug Ellin’s “Entourage” movie,” Ed Zwick’s “Love and Other Drugs,” Renny Harlin’s “A Nightmare on Elm Street 4: The Dream Master,” and Joel Schumacher’s “Twelve.” Fierberg has crafted the look of many music videos, working alongside artists including Dr. Dre, Snoop Dogg, Easy E, David Lee Roth and Tim McGraw. He earned a Latin Grammy for best video of the year for Draco Rosa’s “Mas Y Mas.”

Vincent, who will receive the Presidents Award for her dedicated service to the ASC, is an active member of the ASC Board of Governors and a founding member of the Society’s Vision Committee, fostering diversity and inclusion. Vincent’s contributions to the ASC underscore her role as an influential pioneer and champion for women in the film industry. She actively participates in mentorship programs, while also teaching cinematography at universities, including the American Film Institute, Florida State University, and Loyola Marymount University where she is currently the Distinguished Artist in Residence. Vincent is a recipient of a Women in Film Kodak Vision Award for Outstanding Achievements in Cinematography. She earned the prestigious Excellence in Cinematography Award at Sundance for her work on Craig Brewer’s “Hustle and Flow.” Her feature credits also include Brewer’s “Black Snake Moan” and remake of “Footloose,” Paul Scheuring’s “The Experiment,” and Kasi Lemmons’ “Eve’s Bayou,” which earned Vincent a Golden Satellite nomination. Vincent’s artistry can be seen in the 2024 feature film “A Nice Indian Boy” directed by Roshan Sethi.

“We are looking forward to celebrating these exceptional individuals at our Gala,” said ASC Awards Committee chairman Chuck Minsky. “They are all outstanding artists that have had an impact on our craft both on set and off.”


MySHOOT Company Profiles