"I, Tonya," "The Shape of Water," "Wonder Woman" Take Top Feature Honors At Costume Designers Guild Awards
Margot Robbie as Tonya Harding in "I, Tonya," for which Jennifer Johnson won the CDGA honor in the Contemporary Film category (photo courtesy of NEON)
  • --

I, Tonya, The Shape of Water and Wonder Woman topped the feature film categories at the 20th Costume Designers Guild Awards (CDGA) ceremony held on Tuesday evening (2/20) in Beverly Hills. 

Costume designer Jennifer Johnson won the CDGA honor for Excellence in Contemporary Film on the basis of I, Tonya, which beat out a field consisting of Get Out, Kingsman: the Golden Circle, Lady Bird, and Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri.

Luis Sequeira’s work on The Shape of Water earned the award for a Period Film. Also nominated in this category were Dunkirk, Murder on the Orient Express, Phantom Thread, and The Greatest Showman.

And Lindy Hemming prevailed in the Sci-Fi/Fantasy Film category for Wonder Woman. The other nominees were Beauty and the Beast, Blade Runner 2049, Star Wars: The Last Jedi, and Thor: Ragnarok.

TV winners were Ane Crabtree for The Handmaid’s Tale (Contemporary Television category), Jane Petrie for The Crown (Period Television), and Michele Clapton for Game of Thrones (Sci-Fi/Fantasy Television).

Special honors
Maggie Schpak, expert jeweler/metalworker, received the Distinguished Service Award from Costume Designers Guild president Salvador Perez. The award honors someone whose specialties and talents contribute to the craft and art of costume design.

Guillermo del Toro was awarded the Distinguished Collaborator Award, which honors individuals who demonstrate unwavering support of costume design and creative partnerships with costume designers. Actor Doug Jones and Oscar-nominated costume designer Sequeira, both from del Toro’s 13-time Oscar-nominated film The Shape of Water, presented del Toro with the award.

Kerry Washington received the Spotlight Award, which honors an actor whose talent and career personify an enduring commitment to excellence, including a special awareness of the role and importance of costume design. Eva Longoria, and Scandal costume designer Lyn Paolo made the special presentation to Washington.

Joanna Johnston was honored with the Career Achievement Award, recognizing her extraordinary body of work and lasting impact on filmmaking. Producer Kathleen Kennedy presented Johnston with her award, with a surprise appearance by Sally Field, who worked with Johnston on Forrest Gump and Lincoln.

Here’s a full rundown of CDGA winners:


Excellence in Contemporary Film
I, Tonya – Jennifer Johnson

Excellence in Period Film
The Shape of Water – Luis Sequeira

Excellence in Sci-Fi / Fantasy Film
Wonder Woman – Lindy Hemming


Excellence in Contemporary Television
The Handmaid’s Tale – Ane Crabtree

Excellence in Period Television
The Crown – Jane Petrie

Excellence in Sci-Fi / Fantasy Television
Game of Thrones – Michele Clapton

Excellence in Short Form Design
P!NK: “Beautiful Trauma”, Music Video – Kim Bowen

Career Achievement Award

Joanna Johnson

Distinguished Collaborator Award
Guillermo del Toro

Distinguished Service Award
Maggie Schpak

Spotlight Award
Kerry Washington


MySHOOT Company Profiles