"The Irishman," "Uncut Gems," "1917," "Marriage Story" Among Nominees For Casting Society's Artios Awards
Scarlett Johansson (l) and Adam Driver in "Marriage Story." (photo courtesy of Netflix)
  • --

Casting Society of America (CSA) has announced the film nominees for the 35th Artios Awards, which honor the contribution of casting directors to film, television and theatre. The winners will be revealed on Thursday, January 30, in ceremonies in Los Angeles, New York City and London. Ron Funches will serve as host for the Los Angeles event, with Michelle Buteau hosting the New York ceremony.

“The art of casting for film continued to shine this year, as represented in this noteworthy list of projects. Joining our television and theatre nominees, these talented casting directors exemplify the range of skills and expertise throughout our craft,” said Russell Boast, president, CSA. “The 35th Artios Awards will put a spotlight on the year’s outstanding contributions from our members as we collectively build on this year’s achievements for an even stronger future.”  

Among the films nominated in the Big Budget--Comedy category are Dolemite Is My Name, Hustlers, Knives Out, Rocketman and Uncut Gems.

Big Budget--Drama nominees are 1917, The Irishman, Joker, Little Women and Once Upon a Time...in Hollywood.

Studio or Independent--Comedy contenders are Brittany Runs A Marathon, The Dead Don’t Die, The Farewell, Jojo Rabbit, Late Night and Poms.

Studio or Independent--Drama nominations went to Harriet, Honey Boy, Judy, Marriage Story and Waves.

Nominees in the Low Budget--Comedy or Drama category are Clemency, Diane, The Last Black Man in San Francisco, Skin and Them That Follow.

CSA previously announced the television and theatre nominees and this year’s honorees  including Academy Award® winner and advocate Geena Davis, who will receive the Lynn Stalmaster Award for Career Achievement, and Emmy®, Grammy® and Tony® Award winner Audra McDonald, who will be honored with the Marion Dougherty New York Apple Award.

Among the casting directors being recognized are Deborah Aquila, a three-time Artios Award winner for her work on La La Land, My Week with Marilyn and Red, who will receive The Hoyt Bowers Award, and Andy Pryor, an Emmy nominee and stalwart in the British casting community for his work on projects including Stan & Ollie, Dr. Who, Cold Feet and Call the Midwife, who will be honored with the Excellence in Casting Award at the London ceremony.

The film nominees for the 35th Artios Awards are:

Abominable - Christi Soper Hilt
Frozen 2 - Jamie Sparer Roberts, Sarah Raoufpur (Associate)
The Lion King - Sarah Halley Finn, Jason B. Stamey (Associate)
How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World - Christi Soper Hilt
Toy Story 4 - Kevin Reher, Natalie Lyon

Big Budget - Comedy
Dolemite Is My Name - Mary Vernieu, Lindsay Graham Ahanonu
Hustlers - Gayle Keller
Knives Out - Mary Vernieu, Angela Peri (Location Casting), Brett Howe (Associate)
Rocketman - Reginald Poerscot-Edgerton
Uncut Gems - Francine Maisler

Big Budget - Drama
1917 - Nina Gold
The Irishman - Ellen Lewis, Kate Sprance (Associate)
Joker - Shayna Markowitz
Little Women - Francine Maisler, Kathy Driscoll-Mohler, Douglas Aibel (Location Casting), Carolyn Pickman (Location Casting)
Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood - Victoria Thomas

Studio or Independent - Comedy
Brittany Runs A Marathon - Laura Rosenthal, Maribeth Fox
The Dead Don’t Die - Ellen Lewis, Kate Sprance (Associate)
The Farewell - Leslie Woo
Jojo Rabbit - Des Hamilton
Late Night - Laura Rosenthal, Maribeth Fox, Kimberly Ostroy (Associate)
Poms - Mary Vernieu, Marisol Roncali, Meagan Lewis (Location Casting)

Studio or Independent - Drama
Harriet - Kim Coleman, Erica Arvold (Location Casting), Anne Chapman (Location Casting), Meghan Apostoles (Associate)
Honey Boy - Chelsea Ellis Bloch, John Papsidera
Judy - Fiona Weir, Alice Searby
Marriage Story – Francine Maisler, Douglas Aibel, Kathy Driscoll-Mohler (Associate)
Waves – Avy Kaufman, Mark Mullen (Location Casting)

Low Budget - Comedy or Drama
Clemency - Kerry Barden, Paul Schnee, Roya Semnanian (Associate)
Diane - Jodi Angstreich
The Last Black Man in San Francisco - Julia Kim, Nina Henninger (Location Casting)
Skin - Jodi Angstreich, Laura Rosenthal, Maribeth Fox
Them That Follow - John McAlary, Orly Sitowitz

Micro Budget - Comedy or Drama
Low Tide - Susan Shopmaker, Lois Drabkin
Mickey and the Bear - Avy Kaufman
Skin in the Game - Matthew Lessall
The True Don Quixote - Stephanie Holbrook, Ryan Glorioso (Location Casting), Justin Coulter (Associate)
The Wind - Meg Morman, Sunday Boling

The Zeitgeist Award
Avengers: EndGame - Sarah Halley Finn, Chase Paris (Location Casting), Tara Feldstein Bennett (Location Casting), Jason B. Stamey (Associate)
It Chapter 2 - Rich Delia, Stephanie Gorin (Location Casting), Coco Kleppinger (Associate)
Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker - Nina Gold, April Webster, Alyssa Weisberg, Angela Young (Associate)


MySHOOT Company Profiles