National Board of Review Names "Top Gun: Maverick" Year’s Best Film
Tom Cruise as Capt. Pete "Maverick" Mitchell in a scene from "Top Gun: Maverick." (Paramount Pictures via AP)
Steven Spielberg earns Best Director for "The Fabelmans"
  • --

The National Board of Review (NBR) unveiled its 2022 honorees with marquee honors going to Top Gun: Maverick for Best Film, Steven Spielberg for Best Director for The Fabelmans, Colin Farrell for Best Actor for The Banshees of Inisherin, and Michelle Yeoh for Best Actress for Everything Everywhere All at Once.

Top Gun: Maverick is a thrilling crowd-pleaser that is expertly crafted on every level,” said NBR president Annie Schulhof. “Tom Cruise, Joseph Kosinski and the entire filmmaking team have succeeded in making an incredibly popular film that brought audiences back to the theaters, while at the same time being a full-in cinematic achievement.”

Established in 1909, the NBR recognizes excellence in filmmaking. This year 269 films were viewed by a select group of film enthusiasts, filmmakers, professionals, academics and students, many of which were followed by in-depth discussions with directors, actors, producers and screenwriters.

The honorees will be feted at the NBR Awards Gala, hosted by Willie Geist, on Sunday, January 8, 2023 at Cipriani 42nd Street in New York City.

Here’s a full list of the 2022 award recipients:

  • Best Film: Top Gun: Maverick
  • Best Director: Steven Spielberg, The Fabelmans
  • Best Actor: Colin Farrell, The Banshees of Inisherin
  • Best Actress: Michelle Yeoh, Everything Everywhere All at Once
  • Best Supporting Actor: Brendan Gleeson, The Banshees of Inisherin
  • Best Supporting Actress: Janelle Monae, Glass Onion: A Knives Out Mystery
  • Best Original Screenplay: Martin McDonagh, The Banshees of Inisherin
  • Best Adapted Screenplay: Edward Berger, Lesley Paterson, Ian Stockell, All Quiet on the Western Front
  • Breakthrough Performance: Danielle Deadwyler, Till
  • Breakthrough Performance: Gabriel LaBelle, The Fabelmans
  • Best Directorial Debut: Charlotte Wells, Aftersun
  • Best Animated Feature: Marcel the Shell with Shoes On
  • Best International Film: Close
  • Best Documentary: Sr.
  • Best Ensemble: Women Talking
  • Outstanding Achievement in Cinematography: Claudio Miranda, Top Gun: Maverick
  • NBR Freedom of Expression Awards: All the Beauty and the Bloodshed; and Argentina, 1985

Top Films (in alphabetical order)

  • Aftersun
  • Avatar: The Way of Water
  • The Banshees of Inisherin
  • Everything Everywhere All at Once
  • The Fabelmans
  • Glass Onion: A Knives Out Mystery
  • RRR
  • Till
  • The Woman King
  • Women Talking

Top 5 International Films (in alphabetical order)

  • All Quiet on the Western Front
  • Argentina, 1985
  • Decision to Leave
  • EO
  • Saint Omer

Top 5 Documentaries (in alphabetical order)

  • All the Beauty and the Bloodshed
  • All That Breathes
  • Descendant
  • Turn Every Page--The Adventures of Robert Caro and Robert Gottlieb
  • Wildcat

Top 10 Independent Films (in alphabetical order)

  • Armageddon Time
  • Emily the Criminal
  • The Eternal Daughter
  • Funny Pages
  • The Inspection
  • Living
  • A Love Song
  • Nanny
  • The Wonder
  • To Leslie


MySHOOT Company Profiles