Nominees set for Camera Operator of the Year
Cinematographer James Laxton (l) and camera operator Michael Fuchs on the set of "If Beale Street Could Talk" (photo by Tatum Mangus/courtesy of Annapurna Pictures)
  • --

The Society of Camera Operators (SOC) has unveiled the nominees for Camera Operator of the Year in Film. In the running for the honor--which will be bestowed on January 26 during an awards ceremony at the Loews Hollywood Hotel--are:

  • Michael Fuchs, SOC - If Beale Street Could Talk
  • Mathew Moriarty, SOC - The Front Runner
  • Jody Miller – Beautiful Boy
  • P. Scott Sakamoto, SOC - A Star Is Born
  • Ricardo Sarmiento - BlacKkKlansman

As earlier announced, the nominees for Camera Operator of the Year in TV are:

  • Mitch Dubin, SOC – Legion
  • Chris Haarhoff, SOC & Steven Matzinger, SOC– Westworld
  • Michael Heathcote, SOC – The Handmaid’s Tale
  • Gary Jay, SOC – House of Cards
  • Ben Semanoff, SOC – Ozark

Lifetime Achievement
The SOC will also present its Lifetime Achievement Awards during the evening’s proceedings. As earlier disclosed, Jane Fonda will receive the Governors Award while Harrison Ford has bee named the President’s Award recipient. Fonda and Ford are being honored for their extraordinary body of work and collaboration and commitment to the art and craft of camera operating. 

George Billinger III, SOC president, said of Ford and Fonda, “We are honored to be presenting these awards to such legends in the entertainment industry. Their work has inspired so many of us and we are grateful for their extraordinary contributions to the business and creative community at large.” 

Other Lifetime Achievement honorees are:

  • Camera Operator: Dave Emmerichs, SOC
  • Camera Operator, Live & Nonscripted: Hector Ramirez
  • Camera Technician: Jimmy Jensen
  • Mobile Camera Platform Operator: John Mang
  • Still Photographer: Peter Iovino
  • Technical Achievement: Cinemoves, MATRIX 4 Axis Stabilized Gimbal


MySHOOT Company Profiles