Friday, June 22, 2018
  • Thursday, Nov. 17, 2016
"The Revenant," "The Big Short," "The Jungle Book" Among HPA Award Winners
Leonardo DiCaprio in a scene from "The Revenant" which won the HPA Award for Outstanding Color Grading--Feature Film. The honor was bestowed upon colorist Steven J. Scott of Technicolor Production Services (photo courtesy of Twentieth Century Fox).
TV honorees include post artists behind "Gotham," "Roots," "Game of Thrones"; Spots for Hennessy, Sainsbury’s, Microsoft Xbox earn recognition
  • --

The Hollywood Professional Association (HPA) announced the winners of the 2016 HPA Awards during a gala celebration this evening (11/17) at the Skirball Cultural Center in Los Angeles.  The HPA Awards recognize individuals and companies for outstanding contributions made in the creation of feature films, television, commercials, and entertainment content.   

Awards were bestowed in creative craft categories honoring behind-the-scenes artistry, and a host of special awards were also presented. Here’s a rundown of the 2016 HPA Award winners:

Outstanding Color Grading (Sponsored by Dolby) 

Outstanding Color Grading – Feature Film 
“The Revenant”
Steven J. Scott // Technicolor Production Services    

Outstanding Color Grading – Television 
“Gotham - By Fire”
Paul Westerbeck // Encore Hollywood

Outstanding Color Grading – Commercial   
Hennessy “Odyssey”
Tom Poole // Company 3

Outstanding Editing (Sponsored by Blackmagic Design) 

Outstanding Editing – Feature Film   
“The Big Short”

Hank Corwin, ACE

Outstanding Editing – Television
“Roots - Night One”
Martin Nicholson, ACE, Greg Babor

“Game of Thrones - Battle of the Bastards”
Tim Porter, ACE

Outstanding Editing – Commercial 
Wilson “Nothing Without It” 

Doobie White // Therapy Studios

Outstanding Sound 

Outstanding Sound – Feature Film

Alan Murray, Tom Ozanich, John Reitz // Warner Bros. Post Production Services

Outstanding Sound – Television 
“Outlander – Prestonpans”

Nello Torri, Alan Decker, Brian Milliken, Vince Balunas // NBCUniversal Post Sound

Outstanding Sound – Commercial  
Sainsbury’s “Mog’s Christmas Calamity”

Anthony Moore, Neil Johnson // Factory

Outstanding Visual Effects 

Outstanding Visual Effects – Feature Film
“The Jungle Book”

Robert Legato, Andrew R. Jones 
Adam Valdez, Charley Henley // MPC
Keith Miller // Weta Digital

Outstanding Visual Effects – Television
“Game of Thrones – Battle of the Bastards”

Joe Bauer // Fire & Blood Productions
Eric Carney // The Third Floor
Derek Spears // Rhythm & Hues Studios
Glenn Melenhorst // Iloura
Matthew Rouleau // Rodeo FX

Outstanding Visual Effects – Commercial 
Microsoft Xbox “Halo 5: The Hunt Begins”
Ben Walsh, Ian Holland, Brian Delmonico, Brian Burke // Method Studios

Emerging Leader Award
2016 Winners--Jesse Korosi
Jennifer Zeidan

The following special awards, which were previously announced, were also presented this evening: 
HPA Engineering Excellence Award
Sponsored by NAB Show 
The HPA Engineering Excellence Award is recognized as one of the most important technology honors in the industry, spotlighting companies and individuals who draw upon technical and creative ingenuity to develop breakthrough technologies.  Submissions for this peer judged award may include products or processes, and must represent a step forward for its industry beneficiaries.
2016 Winners-
Aspera: FASPStream
Grass Valley: GV Node Real Time IP Processing and Edge Routing Platform
RealD: Ultimate Screen 
SGO: Mistika

Honorable mentions:
Grass Valley: LDX 86N Native 4K Series Camera 
Canon USA, Inc.: 4K / UHD / 2K / HD display

HPA Judges Award for Creativity and Innovation 
The HPA Judges Award for Creativity and Innovation recognizes companies and individuals who have demonstrated excellence, whether in the development of workflow and process to support creative storytelling or in technical innovation. The Judges Award for Creativity and Innovation is conferred by a jury of industry experts.
2016 Winner: The Mill: BLACKBIRD

HPA Lifetime Achievement Award
The HPA Lifetime Achievement Award is given to an individual who is recognized for his or her service and commitment to the professional media content industry. The mission of the award is to give recognition to individuals who have, with great service, dedicated their careers to the betterment of the industry. The Lifetime Achievement Award is given at the discretion of the HPA Board of Directors and the HPA Awards Committee. It is not bestowed every year.
2016 Honoree: Herb Dow, ACE
The Charles S. Swartz Award
The Charles S. Swartz Award is conferred on a person, group, or company that has made significant artistic, technological, business or educational impact across diverse aspects of the media industry. The award was named in honor of the late Charles S. Swartz, who led the Entertainment Technology Center at the University of Southern California from 2002 until 2006, building it into the industry’s premiere testing bed for new digital cinema technologies. 
2016 Honoree: Michelle Munson, Founder and CEO of Aspera

Embedded Video Credits: 

Visual Effects/Animation: Method Studios, Los Angeles Gabby Gourrier, EVP, global production; Stephanie Gilgar, exec producer; Pip Malone, producer; Ben Walsh, VFX supervisor; Julie Osborn, coordinator; Ian Holland, 2D lead; Brian Delmonico, compositing supervisor; Brian Burke, CG supervisor; Keith Roberts, animation supervisor. (Toolbox: Maya, MARI, ZBrush, Alembic, Nuke, Houdini, Mantra, Flame) Legacy Effects, San Fernando, Calif. J. Alan Scott, effects supervisor; Blake Bolger, Ian Stevenson, Jesse Gee, key artists; Dave Merritt, Damian Fisher, Michelle Deville, Tracy Roberts, Dave Monzingo, Marilyn Chaney, Greg Smith, John Cherevka, Won Song, Mark Killingsworth, Brian Claus, Mike Williams, Gary Yee, Frank Rydberg, Walter Phelan, Derek Rosengrant, Chris Zega, Mazena Puksto, Tom Ovenshire, Nick Seldon, Jaime Siska, James Springham, AJ Venuto, Jake Roanhaus, Brian Dooley, Chris Grossnickle, art department. Agency: twofifteenmccann, San Francisco; Production: Furlined, Santa Monica, Calif. Henry Hobson, director