Rich Carter Elected Chair Of AICP National Board
Rich Carter (l) and Lisa Mehling
Lisa Mehling becomes vice chairperson
  • --

A new slate of officers--headed by Rich Carter of brother--has taken leadership roles at AICP, promising to continue setting progressive policies and goals for the association as it addresses rapidly changing business conditions. Announcement of the new lineup of officers was made by Matt Miller, president and CEO of AICP.

Newly elected as AICP National Board chairperson is Carter, who was re-elected as a director at large, and previously served as vice chairperson.  He’s succeeded in that latter position by Lisa Mehling of Chelsea, who also serves as a director at large, and had been an appointed member of the Executive Committee of the Board for 2018. Elected treasurer is Robert Fernandez of Moxie Pictures, a previous chair of the Board. Sally Campbell of SOMESUCH, who is a director at large, was appointed member at large to the Executive Committee. Rounding out the Executive Committee is Ralph Laucella, who recently concluded two terms as chair and assumes the post of immediate past chairperson.

Growth & diversity
“For the board and for AICP, a major goal will be continuing to diversify the membership of the association and to ramp up our education and communication efforts,” Carter commented. He sees both efforts as helping members stay on top of developments that impact the business of production and post for agencies and brands. 

“We’re looking for greater inclusiveness and more diversity of personal backgrounds and company types,” he added. “And that’s why I’m excited to have Lisa and Sally serving on the Executive Committee. Sally and Lisa are both savvy business owners committed to working with the AICP membership to help create best practices for the industry. Our National Board has become more reflective of the industry as a whole, and that’s been helped by the addition of several representatives from the postproduction community. The more we grow, the stronger we are.”

Mehling previously served on the AICP East Chapter board, and several committees. She also served as chairperson of the AICP Show: The Art & Technique of the American Commercial in 2017. “AICP is incredibly important to the production and post industry, especially now as the rate of disruption to our business has been radical and the new paradigm is nowhere near settled,” noted Mehling. “As an organization, AICP gives us a way to address change as a community, setting best practices that can benefit the entire industry.”

This is the second time Carter has served as chairperson of the AICP Board--he was previously chair from 2008-2010 while a partner at GARTNER; prior to that he held positions on both the National and West Boards and served on numerous committees. In addition to his time on the AICP Board, he is on the Board of Trustees of the Producers’ Health Benefits Plan (PHBP), a position he has held since the Plan’s inception. Carter also serves on the Board of Governors of the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (ATAS).  

Carter noted that now, as owner and executive producer of a small, boutique company that straddles the advertising and entertainment industries, he brings a different perspective to his role as Board chair. “Having transformed my own business gave me insights into how to manage constant change,” he said, “and that focus on education and guidance will continue to be an important part of our mission, not just for AICP members, but for our agency and advertiser partners as well.”

The National Board has several new additions as a result of chapter board elections around the country. Brian Hwang, most recently of 3008 in Dallas, was elected by the Southwest Chapter as its board representative; Hwang is also president of the chapter. Similarly, Lisa Masseur of Tessa Films, president of the Midwest Chapter, was elected as its representative to the National Board. Fernandez will serve as the new East representative to the National Board.

Re-elected as general member directors at large are Eriks Krumins of MJZ, and Frank Scherma of RadicalMedia. Returning to the Board as chapter representatives are Tabitha Mason-Elliot of BARK BARK (Southeast); Michael Savitz of Shoot Collective (Florida); and Bob George of Drive Thru (Minnesota), all of whom are presidents of their respective chapters. Newly elected as an associate director at large is Dee Tagert of Sage Ideas. 

Here’s a rundown of the full AICP National Board:

Rich Carter
Lisa Mehling
Vice Chairman
Matt Miller
Robert Fernandez
Moxie Pictures
Ralph Laucella
Immediate Past Chairman
O Positive
Robert L. Sacks
Secretary & Legal Counsel
Kane Kessler
Sally Campbell
Director At Large
Yvette Cobarrubias
Director At Large
Cosmo Street

Craig Duncan
Director At Large
Cutters Studios
Eriks Krumins
Director At Large
Lisa Masseur
Midwest Regional Director
Tessa Films
Gloria Pitagorsky
Director At Large
Heard City
David Thorne
Director At Large
Andrew Colón
West Regional Director
Tabitha Mason-Elliott
Southeast Regional Director
Michael Savitz
Florida Regional Director
Shoot Collective
Bob George
Minnesota Regional Director
Drive Thru
Brian Hwang
Southwest Regional Director
Dee Tagert
Associate Director At Large
Sage Ideas
Scott Taylor
Associate Director At Large
Taylor & Taylor
Frank Scherma
Director At Large
Past Chairman
Bob Fisher
Past Chairman
Celsius Films
Jon Kamen
Past Chairman
Mark Androw
Past Chairman


MySHOOT Company Profiles