"The Rider," "Roma" Are Big Winners At National Society Of Film Critics Awards
This image released by Sony Pictures Classics shows Brady Jandreau in a scene from “The Rider.” (Sony Pictures Classics via AP)
  • --

The National Society of Film Critics Awards has bestowed its marquee honor, Best Picture, upon The Rider (Sony Pictures Classics), director Chloé Zhao’s spiritual western drama. Zhao was a runner-up for Best Director, an honor that went to Alfonso Cuaron for Roma (Netflix), which topped the competition with three wins--the other two being for Best Foreign Language Film and Best Cinematography (for Cuaron).

Earning distinction as Best Non-Fiction Film was Bing Liu’s documentary Minding the Gap (Hulu, Kartemquin Films, ITVS).

Best Actor and Actress were Ethan Hawke and Olivia Colman, respectively, for First Reformed (A24) and The Favourite (Fox Searchlight).

Best Supporting Actress and Actor were Regina King and Steven Yeun, respectively, for If Beale Street Could Talk (Annapurna Pictures) and Burning (Well Go USA Entertainment).

Here’s a full rundown of award honorees:

Best Picture: The Rider 
Runners-Up: Roma, Burning

Best Non-Fiction Film: Minding the Gap
Runners-Up: Shirkers, Amazing Grace

Best Foreign Language Film: Roma
Runners-Up: Cold War, Burning, Shoplifters

Best Director: Alfonso Cuaron for Roma
Runners-Up: Lee Chang-Dong (Burning), Chloe Zhao (The Rider)

Best Actress: Olivia Colman for The Favourite
Runners-Up: Regina Hall (Support the Girls), Melissa McCarthy (Can You Ever Forgive Me?)

Best Supporting Actress: Regina King for If Beale Street Could Talk 
Runners-Up: Elizabeth Debicki (Widows), Emma Stone (The Favourite)

Best Actor: Ethan Hawke for First Reformed
Runners-Up: Willem Dafoe (At Eternity’s Gate), Ben Foster (Leave No Trace), John C. Reilly (The Sisters BrothersStan & Ollie)

Best Supporting Actor: Steven Yeun for Burning 
Runners-Up: Richard E. Grant (Can You Ever Forgive Me?), Brian Tyree Henry (If Beale Street Could Talk, Widows, Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse)

Best Cinematography: Alfonso Cuarón for Roma
Runners-Up: James Laxton (If Beale Street Could Talk), Lukasz Zal (Cold War)

Best Screenplay: Armando Iannucci, David Schneider and Ian Martin for The Death of Stalin
Runners-Up: Nicole Holofcener and Jeff Whitty (Can You Ever Forgive Me?), Deborah Davis and Tony McNamara (The Favourite)

Film Heritage Award: To the team of producers, editors, restorers, technicians and cineastes who labored for decades to bring Orson Welles’ The Other Side of the Wind to completion for a new generation of movie lovers.

Film Heritage Award: To the Museum of Modern Art for restoring Ernst Lubitsch’s 1923 film Rosita, starring Mary Pickford.

Special Citation for a Film Awaiting U.S. Distribution: A Family Tour (Ying Liang, Taiwan/Hong Kong/Singapore/Malaysia)


MySHOOT Company Profiles