"The Rider" Wins Best Feature At Gotham Awards
This image released by Sony Pictures Classics shows Brady Jandreau in a scene from “The Rider.” (Sony Pictures Classics via AP)
"First Reformed," "Eighth Grade" earn two honors apiece
  • --

Director Chloé Zhao’s spiritual western drama The Rider (Sony Pictures Classics) earned Best Feature distinction at the 28th annual Independent Feature Project (IFP) Gotham Awards on Monday night (11/26) in New York.

The other two big Gotham winners were First Reformed (A24) and Eighth Grade (A24) which garnered two honors apiece. First Reformed won Best Screenplay for Paul Schrader and Best Actor for Ethan Hawke. Meanwhile Eighth Grade copped the Breakthrough Actor Award for Elsie Fisher and the Bingham Ray Breakthrough Director mantle for Bo Burnham.

Taking the Best Actress honor was Toni Collette for Hereditary (A24). 

Also a Special Gotham Jury Award was given to Olivia Colman, Emma Stone, and Rachel Weisz for their ensemble performance in The Favourite (Fox Searchlight Pictures).

Hale County This Morning, This Evening (The Cinema Guild), directed by RaMell Ross, was named Best Documentary.

Another documentary, director Morgan Neville’s Won’t You Be My Neighbor? (Focus Features), won the IFP Gotham Audience Award.

The Gotham Awards have been a harbinger of the Oscars in recent years by honoring films--such as Birdman, Spotlight, Get Out and Moonlight--that went on to win Academy Awards 

In addition to the competitive awards, Gotham Tributes were presented to actors Rachel Weisz and Willem Dafoe, director Paul Greengrass, and the Gotham Industry Tribute to Jon Kamen of RadicalMedia. The Made in NY Award was given to Emmy Award-winning TV host, author, filmmaker and activist Sandra Lee.

Here’s a rundown of this year’s Gotham Award winners:

Best Feature
The Rider
Chloé Zhao, director; Bert Hamelinck, Sacha Ben Harroche, Mollye Asher, Chloé Zhao, producers (Sony Pictures Classics)

Best Documentary
Hale County This Morning, This Evening
RaMell Ross, director; RaMell Ross, Joslyn Barnes, Su Kim, producers (The Cinema Guild)

Bingham Ray Breakthrough Director Award
Bo Burnham for Eighth Grade (A24)

Best Screenplay
First Reformed, Paul Schrader (A24)

Best Actor
Ethan Hawke in First Reformed (A24)

Best Actress
Toni Collette in Hereditary (A24)

Breakthrough Actor
Elsie Fisher in Eighth Grade (A24)

Breakthrough Series – Long Form
Killing Eve, Sally Woodward Gentle, Lee Morris, Phoebe Waller-Bridge, executive producers (BBC America)

Breakthrough Series – Short Form
195 Lewis, Chanelle Aponte Pearson and Rae Leone Allen, creators

IFP Gotham Audience Award
Won’t You Be My Neighbor?
Morgan Neville, director; Morgan Neville, Caryn Capotosto, Nicholas Ma, producers (Focus Features)

Special Gotham Jury Award
Olivia Colman, Emma Stone, and Rachel Weisz for their ensemble performance in The Favourite (Fox Searchlight Pictures)


MySHOOT Company Profiles