"Saint Frances," "Running With Beto" Among SXSW Audience Award Winners
In this Tuesday, Feb. 5, 2019, file photo, former Democratic Texas congressman Beto O'Rourke speaks during an interview with Oprah Winfrey live on a Times Square stage at "SuperSoul Conversations," in New York. The new Beto O’Rourke documentary ends with him musing about how to keep the momentum of his 2018 defeat to Ted Cruz in the Texas Senate race going, but also declaring just as quickly “maybe that’s it.” (AP Photo/Kathy Willens, File)
  • AUSTIN, Texas
  • --

The SXSW Festival Audience Award winners spanning narrative and documentary features, among other categories, were revealed. The Alex Thompson-directed Saint Frances won the Audience honor in the narrative feature competition while For Sama--from directors Waad al-Kateab and Edward Watts--topped the documentary feature field.

The Narrative Spotlight Audience Award winner was The Peanut Butter Falcon directed by Tyler Nilson and Michael Schwartz. 

Running With Beto, directed by David Modigliani, earned the Documentary Spotlight Audience Award.

Here’s a full rundown of Audience Award recipients, which also include the Visions, Midnighters, Episodic Premieres, Global, Festival Favorites and Design Award categories:

2019 SXSW Film Festival Audience Award Winners

Narrative Feature Competition
Audience Award Winner:
Saint Frances
Director: Alex Thompson

Documentary Feature Competition
Audience Award Winner:
For Sama
Directors: Waad al-Kateab, Edward Watts

Narrative Spotlight
Audience Award Winner:
The Peanut Butter Falcon
Directors: Tyler Nilson, Michael Schwartz

Documentary Spotlight
Audience Award Winner:
Running With Beto
Director: David Modigliani

Audience Award Winner:
The Garden Left Behind
Director: Flavio Alves

Audience Award Winner:
Boyz In The Wood
Director: Ninian Doff

Episodic Premiere
Audience Award Winner:
Show Runner: Bridget Bedard

Audience Award Winner:
Cachada: The Opportunity
Director: Marlén Viñayo

Festival Favorites:
Audience Award Winner:
Raise Hell: The Life & Times of Molly Ivins
Director: Janice Engel

SXSW Film Design Awards:
Excellence in Title Design
Audience Award Winner:
Spider-man: Into The Spider-verse
Directors: Brian Mah, James Ramirez

Virtual Cinema Jury Award Winners
The 25 projects in the Virtual Cinema, which ran Monday March 11 through Wednesday March 13, were eligible for 360° Video: Documentary,, 360° Video: Narrative, Interactive, Storytelling, Best Use of Immersive Arts, plus special jury awards.. The 2019 Virtual Cinema jury was composed of Eliza McNitt, Laura Mingail, and Lori​ Schwartz.

360° Video: Documentary Send Me Home
Director: Cassandra Evanisko

360° Video: Narrative Metro Veinte: Cita Ciega
Director: Maria Belen Poncio

Interactive Runnin’
Director: Kiira Benzing

Storytelling Gloomy Eyes
Director: Jorge Tereso, Fernando Maldonado

Best Use of Immersive ArtsHome After War
Director: Gayatri Parameswaran

Special Jury Recognition: The Future of Experience – Traverse
Director: Jessica Brillhart


MySHOOT Company Profiles