• Sunday, Feb. 21, 2021
African American Film Critics’ Special Honorees: George C. Wolfe, Mariah Carey, Netflix, "All In: The Fight for Democracy"
A scene from “All In: The Fight for Democracy.” (Amazon Studios)
  • --

The African American Film Critics Association (AAFCA) has named its Special Achievement Award recipients: George C. Wolfe, Mariah Carey, Netflix, and the voter suppression documentary, All In: The Fight for Democracy, directed by Lisa Cortes and Liz Garbus, who also co-produced the film with political titan Stacey Abrams. The honors will be presented as part of the 12th annual AAFCA Awards, taking place on April 7. 

In addition to being the world’s largest group of Black film critics, AAFCA is an advocacy group championing diversity and inclusion throughout the industry, with special attention paid to those who help to elevate Black stories, as well as increase Black representation across the board. The Special Achievement Awards were created with these goals in mind. 

“Even with the challenges of the pandemic, we look forward to providing audiences with a memorable virtual experience. As with every year, this year’s honorees represent the highest standards of excellence in their fields,” said AAFCA CEO/president Gil Robertson. “Mariah Carey is often recognized as a global icon for her musical gifts, but rarely is she celebrated for the visual storytelling in her music videos and specials. As an artist who is all-hands-on-deck in not just crafting her songs, but also in curating and creating the imagery surrounding them, Carey is especially deserving of the 2021 AAFCA Special Achievement Innovator Award.”

Wolfe, the 2021 AAFCA Special Achievement Salute To Excellence honoree, is a trailblazer whose remarkable career in theatre spans over 40 years. Known for telling daring and inclusive stories, Wolfe brings that fearless persona onto the screen, most recently as director of the film adaptation of August Wilson’s celebrated play, Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom, starring Viola Davis and Chadwick Boseman.

“Netflix is the Cinema Vanguard recipient for fostering a global tribe rooted in bringing all people together across various languages and continents through the power of cinema,” said Robertson. “In addition, we, at AAFCA, are doubly pleased that Mrs. Karen Kramer and her team chose to present this year’s AAFCA Stanley Kramer Award for Social Justice to All In: The Fight For Democracy highlighting Stacey Abrams’ personal mission to combat voter suppression.”

Robertson noted, “This year’s set of honorees are as stellar as previous years. We, at AAFCA, are happy to share and to celebrate their many accomplishments. The honor is truly ours.” 

The AAFCA Special Achievement Awards consistently recognizes the many creatives and industry partners who play significant roles in fostering an environment of diversity and inclusion throughout the industry at large. Past AAFCA Special Achievement honorees include Channing Dungey, Carl Reiner, Quincy Jones, Jason Blum, Edward James Olmos, George Lucas, Sidney Poitier, Jon Chu, and Cicely Tyson.

MySHOOT Company Profiles