• Wednesday, Nov. 21, 2018
Cabral-Ebert, Stevenson To Receive Lifetime Achievement Honors At Make-Up Artists and Hair Stylists Guild Awards
Susan Cabral-Ebert
  • --

Susan Cabral-Ebert, outgoing Local 706 president and Emmy®- nominated make-up artist, and Robert Louis Stevenson, legendary Emmy-winning hair stylist, will receive Lifetime Achievement Awards at the Annual Make-Up Artists and Hair Stylists Guild Awards (MUAHS, IATSE Local 706) honoring outstanding achievements for make-up artists and hair stylists in motion pictures, television, commercials, and live theater. The black-tie awards gala returns to the NOVO by Microsoft in L.A. Live on Saturday, February 16, 2019.

“I am truly honored to receive this special tribute as I leave the leadership role of the guild after so many productive and meaningful years. And I’m thrilled to celebrate alongside Robert Louis Stevenson, for his illustrious body of work over the past four decades,” said Cabral-Ebert.

Emmy-nominated make-up artist Cabral-Ebert has been the president of the Make-Up Artists and Hair Stylists Guild for the past 15 years after an award-winning career in television and motion pictures. She was one of the first women to join the guild as a make-up artist. Nominated for four Primetime Emmy Awards in Outstanding Makeup (ER, And the Beat Goes On: The Sonny and Cher Story, MADtv), her proficiency with all types of make-up from runway beauty to prosthetics kept her constantly working--from Dallas to LA Law. She transitioned into motion pictures as department head on numerous films such as The Perfect Storm, Erin Brockovich, Pleasantville and Dead Poets Society, among many others.

After 25 years on the sets of both television and film, she rose to leadership of Local 706 as VP, assistant business representative and president, an office she has held for an unprecedented five terms. During her tenure, Sue has worked tirelessly to elevate the visibility and importance of the talented Local 706 make-up artists and hair stylists. She has been elected chair of numerous IATSE committees, from Legislative to Diversity and was an original Women’s Committee member. She has become recognized for her work to bring jobs back to California with the California film tax incentive and successfully defeated an assembly bill that threatened Local 706 hair stylists. Sue has been an outspoken advocate for the 10-hour turnaround, recently accomplished in the latest contract negotiations. In addition, Cabral-Ebert is the chairperson for the Make-up Artists and Hair Stylists Guild Awards, plans the education for all classifications of Local 706 members, and is the editor for The Artisan, the guild’s magazine.

An award-winning hair stylist, Stevenson, whose career in motion pictures spanned 40 years, continues to serve as a wig designer and consultant on films since his retirement. He is a pioneer to the art and the first male black hair stylist in Local 706. One of the most sought-after hair stylists in films with over 120 credits over his career, he is respected and well known throughout the industry for his creativity, speed and winning personality.

Stevenson has won a Primetime Emmy for Outstanding Achievement in Hair styling for The Jesse Owens Story and was also nominated for The Atlanta Child Murders and for The Jacksons: An American Dream. He won a Hollywood Make-up Artists and Hair Stylists Guild Award for The Butler, and has been included in an elite group of 5,000 well-known and respected African-Americans to be in the History Makers national archives at the Library of Congress in Washington D.C.

He’s also known for his work on Flash Dance, Get On Up, Amistad, Waiting to Exhale, Coming to America, What’s Love Got To Do With It, The Color Purple and 14 years working with Samuel L. Jackson as his personal hairstylist. His film credits with Jackson included Soul Men, Unbreakable, Shaft, Rules of Engagement, The Long Kiss Good Night, A Time to Kill, The Great White Hype and Jackie Brown, among others. His TV department head credits include Murder, She Wrote; Life Goes On; The Jacksons: An American Dream; and a hair stylist on Melrose Place. Stevenson has also been hair stylist to Angela Bassett, Eddie Murphy and Richard Pryor.

The Lifetime Achievement Award will be given to one make-up artist and one hair stylist for extraordinary Lifetime Achievement, exceptional contributions to the motion picture arts and sciences, or outstanding service to their union or the entertainment industry. Previous recipients of the Lifetime Achievement Award for Make-Up Artists are Greg Cannon, Leonard Engelman, Ve Neill, Rick Baker, Montague “Monty” Westmore, Bob Schiffer, John Chambers, Jack Pierce, Daniel Striepeke and Dick Smith. Previous recipients of the Lifetime Achievement Award for Hair Stylists are Mary Guerrero, Barbara Lorenz, Yolanda Toussieng, Kathryn Blondell, Sydney Guilaroff, Vivienne Walker, Paul LeBlanc, Colleen Callaghan and Gail Ryan.

Additional awards will honor a Distinguished Artisan and nominees for outstanding achievements in motion pictures, television, commercials and live theater. Nominations for this year’s awards will be announced on Thursday, January 10, 2019. Final ballot on-line voting closes on Friday, February 8, 2019. Winners will be announced on Saturday, February 16, 2019 at the Awards gala.

MySHOOT Company Profiles