• Wednesday, Dec. 6, 2023
Danielle Brooks, Colman Domingo, America Ferrera, Andrew Scott to receive Virtuosos Awards at Santa Barbara film fest
Virtuosos Award recipients (l-r) Danielle Brooks, Colman Domingo, America Ferrera and Andrew Scott
  • --

The Santa Barbara International Film Festival has announced the second group of recipients to receive the Virtuosos Award, an honor created to recognize a select group of talent whose noteworthy performances in films this season have elevated them into the national cinematic dialogue. Danielle Brooks (The Color Purple), Colman Domingo (Rustin and The Color Purple), America Ferrera (Barbie) and Andrew Scott (All of Us Strangers) will discuss their work and receive their awards in-person on Saturday, February 10, during the 39th Santa Barbara International Film Festival. The evening will be moderated for the 14th year by Dave Karger, Turner Classic Movies host. The first group of Virtuosos Awards recipients--Lily Gladstone, Greta Lee, Charles Melton and Da’Vine Joy Randolph--was announced last month. 

“I’m thrilled to add Danielle, Colman, America, and Andrew to our already impressive lineup of Virtuosos. This group of eight artists is simply the most diverse of any class in the 14 years that I’ve been hosting the event,” stated Karger.

Virtuosos honorees over the last four years were Austin Butler, Kerry Condon, Danielle Deadwyler, Nina Hoss, Stephanie Hsu, Jeremy Pope, Ke Huy Quan, Jeremy Strong, Caitriona Balfe, Ariana DeBose, Jamie Dornan, Alana Haim, Ciarán Hinds, Emilia Jones, Troy Kotsur, Simon Rex, Saniyya Sidney, Riz Ahmed, Maria Bakalova, Kingsley Ben-Adir, Andra Day, Sidney Flanigan, Vanessa Kirby, Tahar Rahim, Zendaya, Awkwafina, Taron Egerton, Cynthia Erivo, Beanie Feldstein, Aldis Hodge, George MacKay, Florence Pugh, and Taylor Russell.

The 39th Santa Barbara International Film Festival will take place from February 7-17, 2024. Official events including screenings, filmmaker Q&As, industry panels, and celebrity tributes, will be held throughout the city, including at the historic Arlington Theatre. The film lineup and schedule will be announced January, 2024.

MySHOOT Company Profiles