Friday, November 16, 2018
  • Sunday, Dec. 3, 2017
DGA unveils winners of 23rd Annual Student Film Awards
Thomas Schlamme, president of the DGA, said that the Guild's Student Film Awards program "is an important part of our efforts encouraging greater inclusion in the entertainment industry."
  • --

The Directors Guild of America has announced the winners of the 2017 DGA Student Film Awards for African American, Asian American, Latino and Women directors. The awards are designed to honor, encourage and bring attention to exceptional diverse directors in film schools and select universities across the country.
“We’re honored to shine a spotlight on these talented new filmmakers through the DGA Student Film Awards, and we congratulate this year’s exceptional recipients,” said Thomas Schlamme, DGA president. “Now in its 23rd year, this program is an important part of our efforts encouraging greater inclusion in the entertainment industry, and we’re proud that a number of our past winners have gone on to find success as film and television directors. We look forward to seeing what’s next for this talented group.”
The 2017 winners, selected by blue ribbon DGA member panels, are:
West Region

Award Winner: Sanford Jenkins of USC for A Craftsman
Jury Award: Lane Lyle of Chapman University for Distress
East Region
Award Winner: Kevin Wilson, Jr. of New York University for My Nephew Emmett
Jury Award: Alcee H. Walker of The New School for Child Support
West Region

Award Winner: Mei LiYing of USC for Cocoon
Jury Award: Michael Chan of AFI for Marc Chung Protects His Address 
East Region
Award Winner: Sudarshan Suresh of Columbia University for Absent
West Region

Award Winner: Annie Pace of UCLA for Beyond the Gate
Jury Award: Meedo Taha of UCLA for The Incident
East Region
Award Winner: Suzanne Andrews Correa of Columbia University for La Casa de Beatriz
Jury Award: Sebastián Pinzón Silva of Northwestern University for Palenque
West Region

Award Winner: Gisele Tong of USC for Spring Flower
Jury Award: Amanda Renee Knox of Chapman University for Night Call
East Region
Award Winner: Raylene Jin of Columbia University for SHUAI
The DGA Student Film Awards have highlighted dozens of African-American, Asian-American, Latino and Women filmmakers over the years. A number of past winners have gone on to enjoy successful directing careers, including:
Jon M. Chu (Crazy Rich Asians; G.I. Joe: Retaliation; Justin Bieber: Never Say Never; The LXD: The Legion of Extraordinary Dancers; Step Up 3D)
Ryan Coogler (Black Panther; Creed; Fruitvale Station)
Nicole Kassell (The Following; The Killing; The Leftovers; The Americans; Suits; The Closer; Cold Case; The Woodsman; A Little Bit of Heaven)
Patricia Riggen (Tom Clancy’s Jack Ryan; Miracles From Heaven; The 33; Lemonade Mouth)
Sylvain White (Hawaii Five-0; Person of Interest; Covert Affairs; CSI: Miami; Stomp the Yard; The Losers)
Eligible films were made in the 2016/2017 school year (September 2016 through August 2017), and produced as a student project under the supervision of a faculty member – with students holding every major crew position. Dramas, comedies and documentaries are all eligible – animated and experimental films are not eligible. Applicants must be enrolled in, or be a recent (within one year) graduate from an accredited post-secondary institution in California or DGA-selected university offering a degree in film or television

MySHOOT Profiles

Director, Editor


Cinematographer, Director

MySHOOT Company Profiles