• Monday, Jan. 20, 2020
Haley, McConkey win SOC Camera Operator of the Year honors for "Joker," "Mrs. Maisel"
Feature film Camera Operator of the Year recipient Geoff Haley, SOC behind the scenes on "Joker."
  • HOLLYWOOD, Calif.
  • --

During its Lifetime Achievement Awards ceremony on Saturday evening (1/18) at the Loews Hollywood Hotel, the Society of Camera Operators (SOC) announced and honored Geoff Haley, SOC and Jim McConkey, SOC as Camera Operator of the Year in Film and Television, respectively.

Haley won in film for his work on Joker, topping fellow nominees Sam Ellison (A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood), Craig Haagensen, SOC (Motherless Brooklyn), David Luckenbach, SOC (Ford v. Ferrari), and Dale Myrand, SOC (Knives Out).
McConkey won the TV honor on the strength of his work on The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel. He beat out nominees Chris Cuevas (Watchmen), Mitch Dubin, SOC (Legion), Jeff Muhlstock, SOC (Mr. Robot), and Sean Savage, ACO, SOC (Game of Thrones).

Academy Award-winning actress Natalie Portman was given the SOC’s Lifetime Achievement Awards Governor’s Award, and actress and philanthropist Jamie Lee Curtis was recognized with the Lifetime Achievement President’s Award.

The star-studded awards night was streamed live to thousands internationally while over 500 industry professionals and celebs celebrated the achievements of exceptional filmmakers and crews.

MySHOOT Company Profiles