Monday, January 21, 2019
  • Thursday, Jun. 29, 2017
Motion Picture Academy elects 2017-'18 Board of Governors
Mandy Walker, ASC, ACS
  • --

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has announced the results of this year’s Board of Governors election.

Those elected to the Board for the first time span the Actors, Cinematographers, Costume Designers, Directors, Executives, Public Relations, Short Films & Feature Animation, Sound and Writers branches of the Academy.

Those first-time electees are:

  • Whoopi Goldberg, Actors Branch
  • Mandy Walker, Cinematographers Branch
  • Isis Mussenden, Costume Designers Branch
  • Wynn P. Thomas, Designers Branch
  • Kimberly Peirce, Directors Branch
  • David Linde, Executives Branch
  • Christina Kounelias, Public Relations Branch
  • Thomas R. Sito, Short Films and Feature Animation Branch
  • Teri E. Dorman, Sound Branch
  • Larry Karaszewski, Writers Branch

Incumbent governors reelected to the Board include:

  • Lora Kennedy, Casting Directors Branch
  • Kate Amend, Documentary Branch
  • Michael Tronick, Film Editors Branch
  • Kathryn L. Blondell, Makeup Artists and Hairstylists Branch
  • Charles Bernstein, Music Branch
  • Albert Berger, Producers Branch

Returning to the Board after a hiatus is:

  • Richard Edlund, Visual Effects Branch

The Academy’s 17 branches are each represented by three governors, who may serve up to three consecutive three-year terms.

MySHOOT Profiles

Andy Richter
Director, Producer
Daniel Azarian Photo
Director, Editor

MySHOOT Company Profiles