• Tuesday, Sep. 22, 2020
Oscar winner Christopher McQuarrie named recipient of Location Managers Guild's Eva Monley Award
Christopher McQuarrie
  • HOLLYWOOD, Calif.
  • --

Christopher McQuarrie, acclaimed producer, director and Academy Award-winning writer, will receive this year’s Eva Monley Award from the Location Managers Guild International (LMGI) at the 7th Annual LMGI Awards celebrating “2020 Vision: We See It First.”  The Eva Monley Award recognizes and honors industry members who support the vision of location professionals. Hosted by Isaiah Mustafa, the awards ceremony will be held on Saturday, October 24, at 2 p.m. PST during a virtual ceremony. 
McQuarrie received his Oscar for his screenplay of The Usual Suspects (1995) directed by his childhood friend Bryan Singer. The film also garnered McQuarrie BAFTA’s Best Original Screenplay Award. He also went on to win the Edgar Allen Poe Award and the Independent Spirit Award. The Writers Guild of America recognized The Usual Suspects as one of the greatest screenplays of all time.
In the years following, McQuarrie directed The Way of the Gun, starring Ryan Phillippe, Benicio Del Toro and James Caan. In 2008, McQuarrie collaborated with Singer once again to produce and co-write Valkyrie, starring Tom Cruise. This film would lead to many more McQuarrie-Cruise collaborations. McQuarrie re-teamed with Cruise in 2012 for his sophomore directorial outing, Jack Reacher. Within hours of completing the film, he was at work with Cruise again, this time re-writing the script for Doug Liman’s Edge of Tomorrow. It was while working together on the sci-fi action film that Cruise suggested McQuarrie direct what would become Mission: Impossible--Rogue Nation. The highly anticipated fifth installment of the Ethan Hunt saga, also written by McQuarrie, garnered the biggest opening in the history of the Mission: Impossible franchise, was the highest-grossing 2D Hollywood film ever at the Chinese box office, earning $124 million, and garnered over $680 million worldwide. McQuarrie is confirmed to write and direct the sixth chapter in the franchise, making him the first repeat director in the film’s two-decade history.
Last year’s Eva Monley Award recipient was Oscar® nominated director, producer, screenwriter Peter Weir. As previously announced, Oscar-winning director Spike Lee, whose films have reflected significant cultural and historical content with the highest quality, will receive the LMGI Trailblazer Award honoring the groundbreaking spectrum of Lee’s extraordinary award-winning work over the past three decades. Emmy-winning and Oscar-nominated actor Gary Sinise will receive the esteemed Humanitarian Award for establishing the Gary Sinise Foundation with the mission to serve and honor America’s defenders, veterans, first responders, Gold Star families and those in need.
The LMGI Awards honor the outstanding and creative visual contributions by location professionals in film, television and commercials from around the globe. The LMGI Awards also recognize outstanding service by film commissions for their support “above and beyond” during the production process.

Committee co-chairs of this year’s LMGI Awards are Lori Balton and John Rakich. Mike fantasia is LMGI president.

MySHOOT Company Profiles