• Tuesday, Sep. 22, 2020
Music Notes
Universal Publishing Production Music debuts "RE|COVERED" label
The Girl Power collection under the UPPM's just launched "RE|COVERED" label.
  • SANTA MONICA, Calif.
  • --

Universal Publishing Production Music (UPPM) has launched the label “RE|COVERED” which features artfully reimagined cover versions of classic hits and hidden gems from the vaults of popular music.

The launch entails 40 newly produced songs, including unique interpretations of such iconic songs as “Vertigo,” “Born to Be Wild,” “Achy Breaky Heart,” “Sweet Home Alabama” and “I Will Survive,” with plans to release additional songs on an ongoing basis. RE|COVERED music is available with one-stop licensing for both masters and publishing.

“The RE|COVERED project not only gives our clients incredible, reimagined versions of songs which grace the soundtrack of our lives, it also maintains the ‘one-stop shop’ appeal of production music where clients can license 100 percent of the master and publishing via the Universal Music Publishing Group Film & TV group or any of the UPPM global brands, including Universal Production Music worldwide or FirstCom Music and ELIAS Music in the US,” said Michael Sammis, president of UPPM. 

Each song in the RE|COVERED catalog has been creatively re-interpreted by top vocalists and musicians and produced with state-of-the art recording techniques. For the Bill Withers’ classic “Lean on Me,” acclaimed pianist Pat Coil teamed with percussionist Shardé Thomas in a soulful rendition of the track. Other artists contributing to the RE|COVERED project include jazz vocalist extraordinaire Oliver Kuper Harris, soul singer Luke McMaster and multi-platinum recording artist Clair Marlo.

RE|COVERED songs are tailored for use in advertising, cinema, television, games and other media. Most songs are available with stems and include vocal and instrumental versions.

Overseeing the project is Ken Nelson, SVP of Global Repertoire for UPPM, who said: “We’ve responded to numerous requests from content creators with a collection unique in production music. These are outstanding recordings, performed with style and passion. We invested our heart and soul in these songs and look forward to many future releases.”

Initial Launch Track Listings


  • Born to Be Wild
  • Guns of Brixton
  • We Need Some Money
  • Little Lies
  • Magnificent Seven
  • I Want to Be Evil
  • Vertigo
  • The Long Black Veil
  • Naturally Stoned
  • You Are So Beautiful


Pop Love

  • You Make Lovin Fun
  • You Are So Beautiful
  • Say You Love Me
  • If She Knew What She Wants
  • Everywhere
  • Achy Breaky Heart
  • Even the Nights Are Better
  • Brown Eyes
  • If I Ever Fall in Love Again
  • Love Is Alive


Songs of Home, Hope and Healing

  • Sweet Home Alabama
  • Don’t Stop
  • Lean on Me
  • Shining Star
  • California Dreaming
  • All I Have to Give
  • All Through the Night
  • Midnight Train to Georgia
  • After the Storm
  • Get Together


Girl Power

  • Mississippi Queen
  • Ain’t No Love in The Heart of the City
  • These Boots Are Made for Walkin’
  • You’re So Vain
  • We’re Not Gonna Take It
  • Should I Stay or Should I Go
  • Rock N Roll Hoochie Coo
  • I Love You for Sentimental Reasons
  • I Will Survive
  • My Maria

MySHOOT Company Profiles