Honorees for the 5th Annual Location Managers Guild International Awards (LMGI) were announced by LMGI President Eric Klosterman. New York based location manager JOSH KARAN (ALSAM founder) will take home the Trailblazer Award, and the Lifetime Achievement Award will honor Canadian Location Manager RINO PACE (Inception, Deadpool, Unforgiven). The LMGI Awards spotlight international features, television and commercials in which the creative use of filming locations set the tone, enrich the character and enhance the narrative. Winners of additional awards will be revealed during the formal ceremony, hosted by comedian JONAH RAY (Mystery Science Theater 300: The Return, The Meltdown with Jonah and Kumail) on Saturday evening, April 7, 2018 at the historic Alex Theatre in Glendale. Ticket information: here
JOSH KARAN will receive his award from veteran New York location pro and LMGI Board Member Jimmy Ayoub. The LMGI Trailblazer Award recognizes an individual whose efforts and innovations elevate the status of location professionals. Josh Karan works to promote change and make a difference. He originally got into the industry to make political films. Scouting provided the revenue for Public Issue Films, documentaries that “assist in the creation of a more peaceful, just, and sustainable world.” Karan was involved with the formation of the Association of Location Scouts and Managers (ALSAM) in 1982 and his continued stewardship managed to herd production locations in New York long before the internet and email. Years later, ALSAM bi-coastal commercial scouts initiated the landmark relationship of LA Commercial Scout/Managers with Teamsters Local 399. That in turn led to the possibility of NY commercial scouts seeking a similar relationship with Teamsters Local 817.

RINO PACE will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award presented by writer/producer Laeta Kalogridis (Shutter Island, Avatar, Terminator Genisys). Pace’s career spans three decades of location management in film and television. His list of feature credits includes: Betrayal, Unforgiven, The Edge, Along Came a Spider, XMen2, I Robot, Assassination of Jesse James, Shooter, Inception, Man of Steel, Godzilla, and Deadpool. His TV credits include Altered Carbon, Sliders, Airwolf and The Outer Limits. Ever at the vanguard of taming Canada’s Wild West, Pace was instrumental in establishing the Western North as an opportune production environment. His work drew legendary directors like Clint Eastwood (Unforgiven), Andrew Dominik (The Assassination of Jesse James) to the Albertan prairies and the producers of Altered Carbon to the dystopia that is possible in Vancouver. From finding the Fortress Mountain in the Rockies for Christopher Nolan’s Inception to the production of studio blockbusters likeDeadpool and Godzilla, Pace is a linchpin in Vancouver production.

As previously announced, the nominees for the 5th Annual Location Managers Guild International Awards are:


• The Crown –Pat Karam/LMGI, Robert Bentley/LMGI
• The Deuce – Chris George, Pat Weber Sones
• Game of Thrones – Robert Boake/LMGI, Matt Jones/LMGI, Pedro Tate Araez/LMGI
• The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel – Amanda Foley-Burbank, Jose Guerrero
• Stranger Things –Tony Holley/LMGI, Kyle Carey/LMGI
• Taboo – Tom Howard/LMGI


• Big Little Lies – Gregory Alpert
• Black Mirror: Arkangel – Malcolm McCulloch
• Fargo Season 3 – Robert Hilton/LMGI
• The Handmaid’s Tale – John Musikka, Geoffrey Smither
• Ozark – Wes Hagan/LMGI, Kevin Dowling/LMGI, Patrick Rofoli


• Atlanta Mayor’s Office of Film and Entertainment
• FilmLA
• New Mexico Film Office
• Visit Sacramento
• Vietnam Cinema Department


• Coca Cola – Doug Dresser/LMGI, Stephenson Crossley/LMGI, Charles Furer
• Nike: Equality – Jenny Caloca/LMGI, Wilson Wu, Kathy Ruggeri
• North Face Ventrix – Beth Melnick/LMGI, Don Baldwin, Cristobal Fleischmann
• Richmond Tourism BC – Christian Laub, David Angelski
• Volkswagon: Atlas – Charlie Love/LMGI, Jof Hanwright/LMGI, John Hutchinson/LMGI


• All the Money in the World – Steve Mortimore, Enrico Latella
• American Made – Michael Burmeister/LMGI, Michael Haro/LMGI
• Atomic Blonde – Bea Beliczai, Klaus Darrelmann/LMGI
• Dunkirk – Ben Piltz, Arnaud Kaiser
• Mudbound – Wise Wolfe, Imre Legman
• Phantom Thread – Jason Wheeler


• Baby Driver – Doug Dresser/LMGI, Kyle Hinshaw/LMGI
• The Florida Project – Stacey McGillis
• Lady Bird – Michael Smith/LMGI
• Logan – Maria Bierniak/LMGI
• Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri – Robert Foulkes/LMGI

Further inquiries regarding the LMGI Awards may be directed to Eric Klosterman and Robin Citrin at awards@locationmanagers.org. For tickets, go to here

The Location Managers Guild International (LMGI) is an organization of experienced career professionals in the Motion Picture, Television, Commercial and Print production industries. The guild rebranded in 2016 to reflect a growing global membership and focus. LMGI members are dedicated to the establishment of professional standards of personal conduct, safety on the set and business ethics. They support the formation of strong links with business members, governmental agencies and local communities. The Guild promotes awareness of the goals and achievements of members to the general public and within the industry through creative, educational and philanthropic programs. The LMGI was founded in 2003 as a 501(c)(6), non-profit corporation as the LMGA. The LMGI is not a labor union, it does not represent Location Managers/Scouts in wage or working condition negotiations. For more information about the #LMGIawards, visit locationmanagers.org or follow the LMGI on Facebook and Twitter@The_LMGI.