The American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) is now accepting entries for the television categories of the 34th Annual ASC Awards for Outstanding Achievement in Cinematography. Winners will be announced at the organization’s gala on January 25, 2020, at the Ray Dolby Ballroom at Hollywood & Highland.

The three ASC television categories include:

  • Episode of a Television Series – Commercial (half hour and one hour)
  • Episode of a Television Series – Non-Commercial (half hour and one hour)
  • Motion Picture, Miniseries, or Pilot Made for TV

To qualify, shows must have a premiere date in the United States between November 1, 2018, and September 30, 2019. The deadline to enter is October 4, 2019, by 5 p.m. PST. Entry forms can be downloaded here on the ASC website.

In addition to TV and feature categories, a new documentary category will also be introduced at the 34th ASC Awards. The ASC Documentary Award will recognize exceptional cinematography in nonfiction filmmaking. Eligible documentaries include features and episodes that are 30 minutes or longer, and are released in theaters, film festivals, or on broadcast/streaming services between June 1, 2018, and September 30, 2019. ASC members are invited to submit one qualifying nominee for this category and the membership will vote on winners. The deadline for documentary category entries is October 1, 2019.

“The addition of the ASC Documentary Award demonstrates that we care deeply about our art form, and that we are actively seeking out exceptional cinematography deemed worthy of ASC recognition,” says ASC President Kees van Oostrum.

A complete timeline for the 34th ASC Awards, can be found here on the ASC website.

About the American Society of Cinematographers
The American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) is a nonprofit organization dedicated to advancing the art of cinematography. Celebrating its centennial in 2019, the association continues its commitment to educating aspiring filmmakers and others about the art and craft of cinematography – a mission established by the founding members in 1919.

For additional information about the ASC, visit...