The Producers Guild of America (PGA) announced today its 2020 Documentary Motion Picture nominees that will advance to the final voting process for the 31st Annual Producers Guild Awards. The Producers Guild Awards honor excellence in motion picture and television productions, as well as the most notable names in the industry shaping the producing profession. The Guild’s awards have been established as a bellwether for the Academy Awards, as PGA winners often predict the winners at the Oscars.

The films nominated for Outstanding Producer of Documentary Motion Pictures are listed below in alphabetical order:

  • Advocate
  • American Factory
  • Apollo 11
  • The Cave
  • For Sama
  • Honeyland
  • One Child Nation

* These films are in the process of being vetted for individual producer eligibility.

Sports, Children’s and Short-Form Program nominees will be announced December 19, 2019. The remaining nominations for Theatrical Motion Pictures, Animated Theatrical Motion Pictures, Television Series/Specials, Limited Series Television and Televised/Streamed Motion Pictures will be announced January 7, 2020. The winners will be honored at the Producers Guild’s Awards ceremony January 18, 2020 at the Hollywood Palladium.

The Producers Guild Awards also recognize powerhouse producers and leaders who have left their undeniable mark on the industry. In addition to the competitive awards, Ted Sarandos will be recognized with the Guild’s highest honor, the Milestone Award, for his role in creating industry-wide innovation through his leadership at Netflix. Additionally the Norman Lear Achievement Award in Television will be presented to Marta Kauffman for her remarkable impact on the art and craft of television, specifically for her unique ability to create characters and stories that resonate across generations and throughout the world. Octavia Spencer will receive the Visionary Award for her commitment to sharing inspiring, uplifting stories that add value to society and culture as both a producer and actor. Additional honorees will be announced shortly for the Guild’s David O. Selznick Achievement Award in Theatrical Motion Pictures and The Stanley Kramer Award.

The 2020 Producers Guild Awards Event Chair is Suzanne Todd. Sponsors of the 2020 Producers Guild Awards include: General Motors, Official Automotive Partner; Delta, Official Airline Partner and sponsor of the Visionary Award; GreenSlate, Cocktail Reception sponsor.