Emmy®-nominated writer, director and producer, will be named Television Showman of the Year at the 56th Annual International Cinematographers Guild (ICG, IATSE Local 600) Publicists Awards. The Awards, celebrating excellence in publicity and promotion for motion pictures and television programs, returns to the Beverly Hilton Hotel on Friday, February 22, 2019. More than 900 industry leaders are expected to attend this year’s luncheon, which traditionally occurs the week leading up to the Academy Awards®.

In making the announcement, ICG National President Steven Poster, ASC, noted, “Greg Berlanti has produced a prodigious amount of quality television in the 21st  century –almost 30 series, over 1,000 episodes, with many more in the pipeline. This year, he set a new record with 15 current live-action scripted series. This is clearly the right time for us to honor Greg and his growing body of work.”

Greg Berlanti said: “I’m truly honored to be receiving this recognition from the ICG Publicists. Throughout my career, the folks in the publicity departments at the various studios I’ve worked with have been some of my favorite people to collaborate with and I can say first hand that without a smart, strategic publicity campaign, my shows wouldn’t have enjoyed anywhere near the level of success that they have.

WGA, DGA and Golden Globe nominated writer, director, and producer, Greg Berlanti is the force behind some of the most inventive and acclaimed works in film and television.  

Berlanti started in television on the hit show Dawson’s Creek.  Since then, Berlanti has served as creator, writer, and producer behind shows such as EverwoodJack & BobbyEli Stone, and Political Animals. He also served as a producer on Brothers & Sisters and Dirty, Sexy, Money.

During Upfronts 2018, it was announced that Berlanti’s company would make television history with a total of 14 scripted series on the air at the same time. He currently works as executive producer and co-creator on ArrowThe FlashDC’s Legends of TomorrowSupergirl and You. Additionally, Berlanti serves as executive producer on RiverdaleBlack Lightning, Blindspot, TitansChilling Adventures of Sabrina, All AmericanGod Friended Me, as well as the upcoming The Red LineDoom Patrol, and Stargirl. 

Berlanti made his film directorial debut in 2000 with The Broken Hearts Club. His most recent feature directorial project is the critically acclaimed Love, Simon, an adaptation of the celebrated YA novel Simon Vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda. He currently resides in Los Angeles with his husband and son. 

Past recipients of the prestigious Television Showman of the Year Award include Ryan Murphy, John Landgraf, Ted Sarandos, Shonda Rhimes, Chuck Lorre, Nina Tassler, Fred Silverman, Steven Bochco, Aaron Spelling, Bob Hope, among many others.

As previously announced, the Publicists Awards Luncheon will also honor producer Jon M. Chu (Crazy Rich Asians) with the Motion Picture Showman of the Year Award and Jamie Lee Curtis with the Lifetime Achievement Award. The ICG Publicists Directory, to be distributed at the luncheon, will be dedicated to Paul Bloch, co-chairman of Rogers & Cowan, who died last year. Awards chair this year is Tim Menke with Sheryl Main serving as co-chair.

Winners: https://bit.ly/2LSww7g
Winners Greenroom interviews: http://www.epklink.com/ICGpublicistsawards18
Entertainment Publicists first formed a union in 1937 as the Screen Publicists Guild, later becoming the Publicists Guild. In 2002 the Publicists Guild merged with the International Cinematographers Guild (Local 600). The first Publicists Awards Luncheon was held in 1964 and has since grown to an event attended annually by up to 900 Publicists and Motion Picture and Television industry leaders. Many of the greatest actors, directors and executives have been honored including Steven Spielberg, James Cameron, Tom Hanks, Jeffrey Katzenberg, Jerry Bruckheimer, Kevin Feige, Arnold Schwarzenegger, Clint Eastwood, Shonda Rhimes, Julie Andrews, Harrison Ford, Sylvester Stallone, Carol Burnett, Kirk Douglas, Garry Marshall, Stanley Kramer, Paul Newman, Joanne Woodward, Bob Hope and Jerry Lewis. In addition, the members honor their own through the Maxwell Weinberg Publicist Showmanship Awards for publicity campaigns, the Bob Yeager Award for Community Service and the Les Mason Award, the greatest honor to be paid to a publicist. The ICG Publicists also publishes the Annual ICG Publicists Membership Directory. For more information, visit: http://www.icg600.com/  
ABOUT THE INTERNATIONAL CINEMATOGRAPHERS GUILD (ICG, Local 600): The International Cinematographers Guild (IATSE Local 600) represents more than 8500 
members who work in film, television and commercials as directors of photography, camera operators, visual effects supervisors, still photographers, camera assistants, film loaders, all members of camera crews and publicists. The first cinematographers’ union was established in New York in 1926, followed by unions in Los Angeles and Chicago, but it wasn’t until 1996 that Local 600 was born as a national guild. ICG’s ongoing activities include the Emerging Cinematographer Awards and the Publicists Awards Luncheon. The Guild also publishes the award-winning ICG Magazine.