The American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) has re-elected Kees van Oostrum as president for the fourth consecutive year.

The organization also announced its officers for 2019-2020, including Bill Bennett, Paul Cameron and Stephen Lighthill as vice presidents; Levie Isaacks as treasurer; David Darby as secretary; and Curtis Clark as sergeant-at-arms.

"I am grateful to have been chosen to serve the ASC and its membership,” said van Oostrum. "It's an important time for our craft with imaging technologies continuing to evolve at a rapid pace. The ASC and its members are integral to influencing these developments, so that the integrity of our images can be presented and preserved for audiences as they were intended to be seen."

As ASC president, van Oostrum initiated and continues to oversee the ASC’s Master Class program. The Master Classes, which take place in Los Angeles and at various locations worldwide throughout the year, are taught by ASC members. The program was created for cinematographers with an intermediate-to-advanced skill set. Master Class participants get practical, hands-on demonstrations of lighting and camera technique all within current workflow practices.

Van Oostrum has also significantly expanded the activities of the ASC during the last three years in the area of diversity, social media and web presence, and in establishing the new ASC ARRI Educational Center, which will open its doors this September in Hollywood.

Van Oostrum has earned Emmy® nominations for shooting the telefilms Miss Rose White and Return to Lonesome Dove, which also earned a 1994 ASC Outstanding Achievement Award. He also collected ASC Award nominations for The Burden of Proof, Medusa’s Child and Spartacus.

The 2019-20 ASC Board includes John Bailey, Steven H. Burum, Dean Cundey, George Spiro Dibie, Fred Elmes, Lowell Peterson, Steven Poster, Rodney Taylor, John Toll, Amy Vincent and Mandy Walker. Alternate ASC Board members include Charlie Lieberman, Chris Chomyn, Steven Fierberg, Owen Roizman and Isaacks.

The ASC has over 20 committees leading the organization’s various initiatives, including the award-winning Motion Imaging Technology Council (MITC) and the Visionary Committee which encourages diversity and inclusion on camera crews.

For additional information about the ASC, visit  

About the American Society of Cinematographers
The American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) is a nonprofit organization dedicated to advancing the art of filmmaking. Since its charter in 1919, the ASC has been committed to educating aspiring filmmakers and others about the art and craft of cinematography. For additional information about the ASC, visit or join American Cinematographer on Facebook , Twitter and Instagram (@the_asc) and (@american_cinematographer ).