Produced by Noah C Haeussner of Union Entertainment Group (JANIS: LITTLE GIRL BLUE), and executive produced by Union partner/editor Einar Thorsteinsson, ARCTIC hit theatres February 1, 2019. It's been praised by Rolling Stone (“an ice-cold killer of a movie”), LA Times (“an effective nail-biter”), Indie Wire (“packed with excitement”), and Entertainment Weekly (“a harrowing postcard from the void”). The film, which stars Mads Mikkelsen (DR. STRANGE, STAR WARS, THE HUNT), was directed by Joe Penna and executive produced by Martha De Laurentiis (NBC’s HANNIBAL), who last worked with Mikkelsen on the Hannibal TV series. Chris Lemole and Tim Zajaros of Armory Films (MUDBOUND) also produced. The survival tale continues to gain momentum, and last week topped Vulture’s list of the “Best of 2019 (so far),” calling the movie “enjoyable and excruciating.”

Haeussner, a guest on numerous talk shows since the film’s debut, might describe the production, with its subzero Icelandic temps, similarly. “As a group of American producers, our goal going into Iceland was to access untouched scenery in hopes of bringing this story to life. Our partners at Pegasus Pictures (Game of Thrones) and Armory Films, Mads Mikkelsen and the incredible Icelandic crew made this film what it is today.” Of the result, he added, “Mads’ physical journey as this character, and as an actor, is nothing short of astonishing.”

The story surrounds a man (Mikkelsen) stranded in the Arctic, who is finally about to receive his long-awaited rescue. However, after a tragic accident, his opportunity is lost and he must then decide whether to remain in the relative safety of his camp or embark on a deadly trek through the unknown for potential salvation.

The warm reception for this icy adventure began on the festival circuit. ARCTIC was singled out by the Los Angeles Times as one of eight films to see at the 2018 Festival de Cannes. As part of the Midnight Screening section, Haeussner, Lemole, Mikkelsen, Morrison, Penna and Zajaros appeared on a panel. Haeussner participated in a second panel, titled Industry in Focus: The Power of Genre Films. And in a late-night bid, Bleecker Street acquired US and select international rights to the film.

Other films produced or co-produced by Union Entertainment Group include Janis: Little Girl Blue, Blue Mountain State: The Movie and Hateship/Loveship starring Kristen Wiig and the upcoming Here Are The Young Men.

It was announced this week that UEG has has secured the film and television rights to The Haven Place, a stage play by Levi Holloway. Union Entertainment’s Haeussner is producing the pic and will also serve as executive producer alongside Michael Raimondi. Inspired by the H.P. Lovecraft story, the story follows seven complex young girls who come together in search of safety amidst a strange land ravaged by ancient Gods.

"I am incredibly proud of this film, Noah, and the reaction ARCTIC has received around the globe,” said Thorsteinsson. “Being able to produce a movie within the land I grew up in is an honor."

About Union
Union Editorial has offices in Los Angeles, New York, Austin, and London, where it maintains an alliance with Marshall Street Editors. The company also develops and produces original content through its Union Entertainment Group banner. Other Union companies include Resolution, a visual effects boutique specializing in commercials, features and gaming.

Union is presided over by Partner/Managing Director Michael Raimondi in LA, Partner/Executive Producer Caryn Maclean in NY and Executive Producer Vicki Russell in Austin. The Union roster is comprised of Partner/Editors Jim Haygood, Einar, Jay Friedkin, Sloane Klevin, Marco Perez, Christjan Jordan, and editors Christopher Huth, Nicholas Wayman-Harris, Rachael Waxler, Daniel Luna, Jason Lucas, Kevin Ray, Laura Milstein, Eric Argiro, Karen Kourtessis, Zach Kashkett, Andrew Doga, Paul Plew, Teddy Gersten, Jinx Godfrey, Ben Longland and Nico Alba as well as select projects with Tim Thornton-Allen, Matt Chesse, John Mayes, Spencer Ferszt and the Marshall Street roster.