Ryan Murphy, one of television's busiest and most successful writers/directors/producers, will be named Television Showman of the Year at the 54th Annual International Cinematographers Guild (ICG, IATSE Local 600) Publicists Awards honoring excellence in publicity and promotion for motion pictures and television programs, to be held at the Beverly Hilton Hotel on Friday, February 24.

Murphy has created a wide array of shows and has won four Primetime Emmys®, 11 additional award wins and 45 nominations and is the originator of the popular American television programs American Horror StoryScream Queens, GleeNip/Tuck and The New Normal.

“Ryan Murphy is a visionary in the creation of entertainment projects who personifies the very concept of showmanship,” said Awards Committee chairman Henri Bollinger.

Steven Poster ASC., national president of the ICG, added, “Ryan is up there with a select few who have been able to bring such high consistency to everything they touch."

Murphy began his career as a journalist, eventually turning his penmanship towards a career in film and television. His first program, Popular, a teenager comedy-drama for the WB Network ran for three seasons in 1999. More success came in 2003 with the debut of FX’s Nip/Tuck, which tells the tale of two plastic surgeons living and working in Miami, Florida. In 2009, Murphy debuted Glee about a high school glee club, which was inspired by his days in high school choir. In 2011, Murphy served as executive producer on American Horror Story with Jessica Lange and Dylan McDermott and guest stars Lady Gaga and Kathy Bates. In 2012, NBC announced plans to air Murphy’s newest series, The New Normal. In 2014 HBO film The Normal Heart debuted, chronicling the story of the onset of the AIDS crisis in New York, which won an Emmy for Outstanding Television Movie. Additional credits include American Crime StoryFeudScream QueensEat Pray Love and The Glee Project among many others.

Entertainment publicists first formed a union in 1937 as the Screen Publicists Guild, later becoming the Publicists Guild. In 2002 the IATSE merged them with the International Cinematographers Guild (Local 600). The first Publicists Awards Luncheon was held in 1962 and has since grown to an event attended annually by up to 900 publicists and industry leaders. Many of the greatest actors, directors and executives have accepted the Motion Picture and Television Showmanship Awards and Lifetime Achievement Awards and include Arnold Schwarzenegger, Clint Eastwood, Julie Andrews, Harrison Ford, Sylvester Stallone, Carol Burnett, Kirk Douglas, Stanley Kramer, Joanne Woodward and Paul Newman, Bob Hope and Shonda Rhimes. In addition, the members honor their own through the Maxwell Weinberg Awards for publicity campaigns, the Bob Yeager Award for Community Service and the Les Mason, the greatest honor to be paid to a publicist. 

The International Cinematographers Guild (IATSE Local 600) represents more than 7,000 members who work in film, television and commercials as Directors of Photography, Camera Operators, Visual Effects Supervisors, Still Photographers, Camera Assistants, Film Loaders, all members of camera crews and Publicists. The first cinematographers union was established in New York in 1926, followed by unions in Los Angeles and Chicago, but it wasn't until 1996 that Local 600 was born as a national guild. ICG's ongoing activities include the Emerging Cinematographer Awards and the Publicists Awards Luncheon. The Guild also publishes the award-winning ICG Magazine www.ICG600.com.

Hashtag: #PublicistsAwards
Website: icg600.com
Facebook: facebook.com/cameraguild
Twitter: twitter.com/ICGLocal600
Instagram: instagram.com/icglocal600