Rob Marshall, Oscar®-nominated and Emmy®-winning filmmaker, producer, theater director and choreographer whose films have consistently reflected the highest quality of production design, will receive the prestigious Cinematic Imagery Award from the Art Directors Guild (ADG, IATSE, Local 800) at its 23rd Annual Art Directors Guild's Excellence in Production Design Awards. The 2019 Awards, themed "Production Design: Landscape of the Imagination,"  will be held Saturday, February 2, 2019 at the InterContinental Los Angeles Downtown and will honor the prestigious spectrum of Marshall's extraordinary award-winning work. The announcement was made today by ADG Council Chairman Mark Worthington ADG and Awards Producers Scott Moses ADG and Marco Miehe ADG.

Rob Marshall's films have been honored with a total of twenty-three Academy Award nominations - winning nine, including Best Picture. His most recent film Mary Poppins Returns, which he directed and produced, stars Emily Blunt and Lin-Manuel Miranda.

Said ADG President Nelson Coates, "We are excited to recognize the amazing talents and creative contributions Rob Marshall has made to narrative design and imaginative storytelling, while so beautifully creatingan incredible cinematic legacy as which includes some of the most successful movies of our time. The breadth of his impact on the visual lexicon spans the worlds of film, television, theater and dance."

Considered one of the most successful and respected filmmakers in the industry today, Rob Marshall's directorial efforts include the Academy Award-winning films Chicago and Memoirs of a Geisha. For his work on Chicago, winner of six Oscars including Best Picture, Marshall received the Directors Guild Award, Oscar, Golden Globe and BAFTA nominations, the National Board of Review Award and the New York Film Critics Online Award, both for best directorial debut, as well as the American Choreography Award. His epic film Memoirs of a Geisha was the winner of three Oscars, three BAFTA Awards and a Golden Globe. Marshall's film version of the musical Nine was nominated for four Academy Awards, five Golden Globes, ten Critics Choice awards, and a SAG award for best cast. His film Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides, starring Johnny Depp and Penelope Cruz, went on to gross over one billion dollars at the worldwide box office. Marshall's screen adaption of the Sondheim musical Into the Woods, starring Meryl Streep, was nominated for three Oscars, three Golden Globes (including Best Picture), and was chosen as one of AFI's best films of the year. 

Marshall executive produced, directed and choreographed the NBC television event Tony Bennett: An American Classic, winning his second Directors Guild Award as well as three Emmy Awards for Direction, Choreography and Outstanding Variety, Music or Comedy Special. He directed and choreographed Disney/ABC's movie musical Annie, which received 12 Emmy nominations and won the prestigious Peabody Award. For his work he received an Emmy and an American Choreography Award. He is the recipient of the Cinema Audio Society Filmmaker Award, as well as the Distinguished Collaborator Award for the Costume Designers Guild and the Hamilton Award.

In addition to his film and television achievements, Mr. Marshall is a six-time Tony Award nominee and George Abbott Award winner. His stage work includes Broadway productions of CabaretLittle Me, Victor/Victoria, Damn YankeesShe Loves MeCompany, and Kiss of the Spiderwoman.

The ADG's Cinematic Imagery Award is given to those whose body of work in the film industry has richly enhanced the visual aspects of the movie-going experience. Previous recipients have been Kathleen Kennedy, Brad Bird, David O. Russell, Steven Spielberg, Christopher Nolan, Martin Scorsese, John Lasseter, George Lucas, Frank Oz, the Production Designers behind the James Bond franchise, the principal team behind the Harry Potter films, Bill Taylor, Syd Dutton, Warren Beatty, Allen Daviau, Clint Eastwood, Blake Edwards, Terry Gilliam, Ray Harryhausen, Norman Jewison, Robert S. Wise and Zhang Yimou.

Producers of this year's ADG Awards (#ADGawards) are Production Designers Scott Moses ADG and Marco Miehe ADG. Award submissions open online on October 4 - November 8, 2018. Online nomination voting will be held December 5, 2018 - January 4, 2019 and nominees announced on January 7, 2019. Final online balloting will be held January 8 - 31, 2019 and winners will be announced at the dinner ceremony on Saturday, February 2, 2019. ADG Awards are open only to productions when made within the U.S. by producer's signatory to the IATSE agreement. Foreign entries are acceptable without restrictions.

Further inquiries regarding the ADG Awards may be directed to ADG Awards & Events Director Debbie Patton at contact info below.

About the Art Directors Guild
The Art Directors Guild (IATSE Local 800) represents 2,500 members who work throughout the United States, Canada and the rest of the world in film, television and theater as Production Designers, Art Directors, Assistant Art Directors; Scenic, Title and Graphic Artists; Illustrators and Matte Artists; Set Designers and Model Makers; and Previs Artists. Established in 1937, the ADG's ongoing activities include a Film Society, an annual Awards Banquet, a creative/technology community (the World Building Institute), a bimonthly craft magazine (Perspective); and extensive technology-training programs, figure drawing and other creative workshops and year-round Gallery 800 art exhibitions. The Guild’s Online Directory/Website Resource is at Connect with the Art Directors Guild and #ADGawards on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.