The National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (NATAS) has nominated UFC 25 Years in Short as Outstanding Edited Sports Special or Series, in the 40th Annual Sports Emmy® Awards. “Breaking Barriers,” one episode in the series, was cut by partner/editor Einar Thorsteinsson of bicoastal Union Editorial. With additional editorial by Jed Stuber, the project was written and produced by Matt Ogens (repped for spots by Bullitt), a frequent collaborator with Union, which provided post production services has well. “Breaking Barriers” is the story of Ronda Rousey blazing a trail for female fighters and the obstacles they had to literally and metaphorically break through to be taken seriously.

The film owes its intense visual flair to Ogens and DP Samson Chan, complemented by powerful original music, courtesy of Greg Kuehn. “Breaking Barriers” debuted in December 2018 on UFC Fight Pass; it was produced by Joshua Roth, with Executive Producer Dana White, and Executive Producers Craig Borsari, Chris Kartzmark and Adam Condal.

“We’ve never seen such high-quality nominees from such a diverse group of entrants,” said Steve Ulrich, Senior Vice President, Sports Emmy Awards and Events, in the Academy’s official statement.

“Some of my best collaborations have been with Union Editorial,” Ogens said. “They are wonderful, collaborative partners. Einar and I have worked on several projects together. In fact, we had just wrapped on a big Ford campaign, when I mentioned this UFC project. He immediately connected to the material.” Einar’s recent spot work includes projects for San Diego Tourism (via MeringCarson/Sacramento, directed by Warren Kushner), Honda (via Muse, helmed by John O’Hagan), and Dodge (via GSD&M/Austin; Thomas Garber, director).

Nominations were announced in 41 categories including Outstanding Live Sports Special, Live Sports Series and Playoff Coverage, three Documentary categories, Outstanding New Media, Outstanding Play-by-Play Announcer and Studio Host, among others. Dick Vitale will receive a Lifetime Achievement Award at a May 20th Ceremony at Jazz at Lincoln Center’s Frederick P. Rose Hall. For more information, please visit the website at

About Union
Union Editorial has offices located in Los Angeles, New York, Austin, and London, where it maintains an alliance with Marshall Street Editors. The company also develops and produces original content through its Union Entertainment Group banner. Other Union companies include Resolution, which provides finishing services, vfx, graphics and mix for commercials, features and gaming. Union is presided over by Partner/Managing Director Michael Raimondi in LA, Partner/Executive Producer Caryn Maclean in NY and Executive Producer Vicki Russell in Austin. The Union roster is comprised of Partner/Editors Jim Haygood, Einar Thorsteinsson, Jay Friedkin, Sloane Klevin, Marco Perez, Christjan Jordan, and editors Andrew Ratzlaff, Chris Huth, Daniel Luna, Eric Argiro, Jason Lucas, Karen Kourtessis, Kevin Ray, Nicholas Wayman-Harris, Rachael Waxler, Zach Kashkett as well as select projects with Teddy Gersten, Paul Plew, Tim Thornton-Allen, Matt Chesse, John Mayes, Nico Alba, Andrew Doga, Spencer Ferszt and the Marshall Street roster.