Edited by Union Editorial NY’s Chris Huth, a new video was released yesterday, announcing the launch of #PassTheMic, a campaign featuring global health, economic and policy experts, frontline workers and celebrities joining together to discuss the need for a global response to the COVID-19 pandemic. The video is presented by The ONE Campaign, a global organization campaigning to end extreme poverty and preventable disease. It was created and produced in partnership with global collective hive. In addition to Huth, the team at Union included Assistant Editor Jean Cassidy, Senior Producer Susan Motamed, Executive Producer Melissa Lubin and Managing Director/Partner Caryn Maclean, along with Motion Graphics/Finish Producer Tim Vierling, Lead Flame Artist Jason Ortenberg, and Flame Assistant Greg Rom. Rolling Stone and others are already spreading the word about this effort to leverage celebs’ social media accounts in the service of meaningful discussions in response to COVID-19.

Celebrities appearing in the video include Penelope Cruz, Julia Roberts, Shailene Woodley and Rainn Wilson; it features experts such as Dr. Ngozi Okonjo Iweala (Chair, Gavi Board and former Finance Minister of Nigeria), Jen Kates (Director of Global Health & HIV Policy, The Kaiser Family Foundation) and more.

Experts from around the world will be featured in the discussions, including Dr. Anthony Fauci (Director, National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases), Dr. Bill Frist (Former US Senator from TN), Ellen Johnson-Sirleaf (Former President of Liberia), Vera Songwe (Executive Secretary of the Economic Commission for Africa), Craig Spencer (Director of Global Health in Emergency Medicine, New York-Presbyterian/Columbia University Medical Center)

“Beating the virus means listening to the experts and following the science, data and facts to get ahead of it. This impressive group of talent and experts from around the world will put a spotlight on the need for a global response to this pandemic,” said ONE Campaign President and CEO, Gayle Smith. “We need global cooperation and action to fight this pandemic – especially for the people, communities, and countries that are least able to withstand the shock. Because none of us are safe until all of us are safe.”

A full list of the celebrities and experts participating, with dates to be announced later, can be found here.

ONE supporters across the world have signed a call to action telling governments that a global pandemic demands a global response. For more information on #PassTheMic, including social content for the takeovers, and a full list of the celebrity and expert pairings, follow ONE on social media for announcements about upcoming takeovers, or visit WWW.ONE.ORG/PasstheMic.

This campaign was produced in partnership with hive. hive is a global collective of creative, marketing and policy experts who build new funding models, strategies, and campaigns for their clients and partners that accelerate change and make the world fairer. Founded by women, it donates 10% of its profits to empower women and girls. Everything hive does is designed to make a difference. @ahiveco  ahive.com

About Union
Union Editorial has offices located in Los Angeles, New York, Austin, and London, where it maintains an alliance with Marshall Street Editors. The company also develops and produces original content through its Union Entertainment Group banner. Other Union companies include Hunter, which provides finishing services, vfx, graphics and mix for commercials, features and gaming. Union is presided over by Partner/Managing Director Michael Raimondi in LA, Partner/Managing Director Caryn Maclean alongside Executive Producer Melissa Lubin in NY, and Executive Producer Vicki Russell in Austin. The Union roster is comprised of Partner/Editors Jim Haygood, Einar Thorsteinsson, Jay Friedkin, Sloane Klevin, Marco Perez, Merritt Duff, and editors Chris Huth, Daniel Luna, Laura Milstein, Jason Lucas, Karen Kourtessis, Kevin Ray, Nicholas Wayman-Harris, Rachael Waxler, Zach Kashkett, Andrea MacArthur, Amanda Perry as well as select projects with Teddy Gersten,Tim Thornton-Allen, Matt Chesse, John Mayes, Spencer Ferszt, Paul Plew and the Marshall Street roster.