The International Cinematographers Guild Publicists (ICG, IATSE Local 600) will honor veteran publicist Sheryl Main with the esteemed Henri Bollinger Award at the 57th Annual ICG Publicists Awards Luncheon on February 7 at The Beverly Hilton Hotel, it was announced today by Tim Menke, Chair of the awards. Main is a publicity and marketing strategist with over 25 years’ experience in both the entertainment and political arenas. More than 800 industry leaders are expected to attend this year’s luncheon, which traditionally occurs the week leading up to the Academy Awards®.

The Henri Bollinger Award is named after the renowned award-winning entertainment industry publicist. It is bestowed on occasion to recognize a person who epitomizes the definition of special merit in the field of entertainment. The ICG Publicists Awards celebrate excellence in publicity and promotion for motion pictures and television programs.

“I can think of nobody more deserving of receiving the Henri Bollinger Award than Sheryl Main. It is true that if you happened to run into Sheryl and Henri together, their similarities would not automatically be apparent. Where Henri was reserved, Sheryl is boisterous. Where Henri was soft-spoken, Sheryl is easily heard. But their similarities can be found right below the surface: incredible loyalty, dedication to craft, kindness, a deep understanding of what it means to be a member of a team and a deeper commitment to protecting and advancing every publicist and the local that represents them. It is absolutely fitting that Sheryl should receive this award and absolutely true that Henri would find her receipt of it ideal,” said Rebecca Rhine, ICG National Executive Director.

Sheryl Main began her career in film production in New York City working on projects with Oscar®-winning directors John Avildsen (Rocky) and John Huston (Prizzis Honor) before relocating to Los Angeles. She worked on the groundbreaking television series Moonlighting, before moving to Warner Bros. Pictures as Senior Publicist/Project Executive in the International Film Publicity department. At WB, Main coordinated and implemented international publicity and marketing strategies for several high-profile films in cities across the globe.

In 2000, Main blended her love for production with her love for publicity by becoming a unit publicist. In that capacity she joined forces with action star, Arnold Schwarzenegger, working on several titles he starred in while also supervising his press tours, events and personal appearances to over 20 countries including China and Iraq. In 2004, Governor Schwarzenegger tapped Main for his communications team where she served as Deputy Communications Director and Director of Foreign and Specialty Media for nearly four years.

As a volunteer, Main chaired the Women’s Council at the Los Angeles Regional Foodbank, created self-esteem workshops for at-risk young girls through the LACERS after school program and for homeless women transitioning back into society through PATH (People Assisting the Homeless). Currently, Main serves on the National Executive Board of the International Cinematographers Guild, helping create educational programs for publicists, and serves as a mentor to publicists through the ICG Mentoring Program. In addition, she is the Co-Chair of the Hermosa Beach Police Chief’s Community Advisory Board and a co-founder of THRIVE, a community-based organization designed to create opportunities on the local level.  She received the ICG Publicists Bob Yeager Award for Community Service in 1998 and currently co-chairs the annual ICG Publicists Awards with Tim Menke. 

This year, the ICG Publicists Awards will honor Anthony and Joe Russo, who helmed Marvel Studios’ critically acclaimed Avengers: Endgame, with the Motion Picture Showman of the Year Award for their historic contributions to the art of cinema and television. Ava DuVernay, award-winning writer, director and producer, will be honored with the Television Showman of the Year Award for her visionary impact on television. Don Mischer, award-winning producer and director will be the recipient of the prestigious Lifetime Achievement Award, honoring his prolific career as an internationally acclaimed producer and director of television and live events. The recipient of the Bob Yeager Award for Community Service and winners of additional award categories will be announced at the ceremony. 

Entertainment publicists first formed a union in 1937 as the Screen Publicists Guild, later becoming the Publicists Guild. In 2002, the Publicists Guild merged with the International Cinematographers Guild (IATSE Local 600). The first Publicists Awards Luncheon was held in 1964 and has since grown to an event attended annually by around 800 publicists, press, motion picture and television industry leaders, and other IATSE leaders.  Motion Picture and Television Showmanship Awards and Lifetime Achievement Awards have been bestowed upon numerous esteemed actors, directors and executives. Additional awards include the Maxwell Weinberg Awards for a Television Publicity Campaign and for a Motion Picture Publicity Campaign, Les Mason Award for Career Achievement in Publicity, and the Bob Yeager Award for Community Service. The Guild also publishes the Annual ICG Publicists Directory. For more information about the ICG Publicists Awards, visit: #PublicistsAwards.
The International Cinematographers Guild represents approximately 9,000 members who work in film, television and commercials as directors of photography, camera operators, digital imaging technicians, visual effects supervisors, still photographers, camera assistants, film loaders, all members of camera crews and publicists. The first cinematographers’ union was established in New York in 1926, followed by unions in Los Angeles and Chicago, but it wasn’t until 1996 that Local 600 was born as a national guild. ICG’s ongoing activities include the Emerging Cinematographer Awards and the Publicists Awards Luncheon. The Guild also publishes the award-winning ICG Magazine.