Sunday, March 24, 2019
  • Tuesday, Aug. 2, 2016
People on the Move
Film editor Mark Goldblatt elected to Academy Board of Governors
In this March 2, 2014 file photo, an Oscar is displayed at the Dolby Theatre in Hollywood, Calif. (AP file photo)
  • --

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has announced that Oscar® nominee Mark Goldblatt (“Terminator 2: Judgment Day”) has won the runoff election for the open Film Editors Branch seat on the 2016–17 Board of Governors.  Goldblatt, who is returning to the Board after a one-year hiatus, joins incumbents Carol Littleton and Michael Tronick in representing the branch.

Goldblatt and Oscar® nominee Maryann Brandon tied for the seat in the Board election last month, and Film Editors Branch members were asked to vote in the runoff via online or paper ballot.  This is the third time in Academy history that a tie occurred in the balloting.  Runoff elections were held in 2009 in the Directors Branch, and last year in the Writers Branch.  

The Academy’s 17 branches are each represented by three governors, who may serve up to three consecutive three-year terms. The Board also includes three governors-at-large appointed by the Academy president.  The Board directs the Academy’s strategic vision, preserves the organization’s financial health, and assures the fulfillment of its mission. 

MySHOOT Profiles

Josh Ausley DP


MySHOOT Company Profiles